• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Tonight’s Supper: Spaghetti

Spaghetti is a HUGE family favorite at my house!  But I bet we do spaghetti suppers different than most folks.  Growing up, we had spaghetti and a host of side dishes with it.  I was grown before I knew people fixed spaghetti, salad and garlic bread and called that “supper!”  No joke! 

 So we had spaghetti tonight at my house, per the request of my youngest.  In fact, he asked for spaghetti, “fried okra and ranch dressing to dip it in” and “spagarious.”  What is “spagarious” you ask.  “Spagarious” is Noah-speak for ASPARAGUS.  Well, we had the fried okra and ranch dressing for dipping it in.  Stop gagging!  Don’t knock it until you try it!  It’s really wonderful stuff!  And it will only make your hiney slightly larger…….but I digress.

 Our “typical” spaghetti dinner includes mashed potatoes.  Yes, MASHED POTATOES!  With SPAGHETTI!  That’s how we always had it at my house growing up!  So we had those tonight along with green beans, cooked the good ole Southern way……or at least as close as I can and still manage to keep them 0 Weight Watchers points!  I “cooked them to death” in the Southern tradition.  But instead of adding a chunk of fatback or ham or slices of bacon or bacon grease like my Granny would have, I added some “ham soup base” to get the flavor, but not add the fat and calories.  We also had slaw and mayonnaise muffins.  We usually have cornbread, but my oldest asked for mayonnaise muffins since I made some yesterday for an ailing friend, but didn’t keep any for the family.  ***GASP***  So mayonnaise muffins it was tonight! 

So our dinner menu tonight:

Spaghetti

Mashed Potatoes

Green Beans

Fried Okra

Slaw

Mayonnaise Muffins
What did you have? 

5 Responses

  1. Hilarious! I have NEVER had spaghetti with mashed potatoes… yes, in my life spaghetti is eaten with salad (or green bean something) and some french/italian bread.

    And I’ve never had Okra

  2. Ok, between the description of your supper and my husband watching the diner cooking show on TV, I’m now officially hungry, LOL. The kids ate at their grandparents before coming home, Dh had leftovers and I had such a day that I didn’t want to think about it. I ended up with some dry cheerios and a soda, very nutritious I know, but hey it’s good for my heart, right?????

  3. Amy, I love your food blog! I look forward to checking it each day!

  4. Amy, I had to laugh when I read about the mashed potatoes and spaghetti. When I was younger, I would not eat spaghetti. Yes I was a very picky eater. My mom would boil potatoes and I would eat potatoes while everyone else ate spaghetti! Potatoes have always been one of my favorite foods!

  5. Amy, I love your food blog and I will be checking it every day.

Leave a Reply

