Super Bowl Food

It’s nearly Super Bowl time.  Woo Hoo!  ***rolling eyes***  OK, those of you who know me well, know I don’t give two hoots about football.  I actually DO happen to know who is playing this year despite it not being our Tennessee Titans.  I only know because my brother flipped on my TV to the play-off games everytime they came down for dinner and one was on.  So GO Patriots!  GO Giants!  :oP~~~  Who cares?  It’s ALL about the FOOD!!!!!! 

The funny thing is, 2 years ago for the Super Bowl, my brother and I made this gargantuan sub.  I mean it was GINORMOUS!  See?

GINORMOUS Super Bowl Sub

So now, my kids equate the Super Bowl with that sub!  That’s like the ONLY thing they associate with the Super Bowl!  That just cracks me up!  So of course, we are having “THE Sub”  because the Super Bowl SURELY can not happen without “THE Sub” being served at our house!  I’ve also decided we’re having Quesadillas made Weight Watchers-friendly so I can actually enjoy some Super Bowl food too!  I’m going to make homemade Pico de Gallo and Guacamole to go with those.  And an online friend shared a recipe for Jerk Chicken Nachos that I think I can make fairly Weight Watchers-friendly that might go on the menu.  My brother is jonesing for homemade corndogs so my sister-in-law is going to make those.  At this point, I’m not sure what else we’ll have.  But I AM sure we’ll add more to the menu, because this is ME we’re talking about here!  Let’s get serious!  It ain’t a party at Amy’s without forty-eleven dishes, right?!?! 

The recipe I want to share today is AWESOME Super Bowl fare!  Many of you “know” me from online because of a couple little forums called “Moms Online” and “Amy’s Kitchen” which are both now defunct.  I think the majority of you all will “know” this recipe.  For those of you out there who were never privy to Moms Online or Amy’s Kitchen, first, I hate you missed them.  Second, this recipe is the bomb diggity!  For those of you who “know” me because you live near me, if you came to Taste of Hardin County in 2006 and stopped by the DCS booth, you might’ve tasted this particular recipe I’m going to share.  So you might “know” this recipe too by way of having tasted it.  The rest of you who are scratching your heads right now because you landed here by way of a Google search and have NO idea who I am or why you’re here, bear with me!  It’s about to get tasty in here!

I HIGHLY recommend that you all rush right out and get everything for this recipe RIGHT NOW and make yourself some!  Eat every single, glorious bite with total, complete and utter reckless abandon, then wash up the dish to eliminate all evidence and so you can make more to actually share with your family for Super Bowl Sunday!  Have absolutely NO regard for the fat and calories and cholestrol and carbs and fiber and all that junk!  Just eat it!  You’ll love me afterwards.  I promise! 

Buffalo Chicken Dip

*  4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, boiled and shredded

*  12 oz. Frank’s hot sauce

*  2-8 oz. pkg. cream cheese

*  16 oz. ranch dressing

*  1 cup celery, chopped

*  2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 375°.  Liberally spray baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.  Mix chicken and hot sauce together and pour in a 9″ x 13″ baking dish.  Heat the cream cheese and ranch dressing in a saucepan until smooth and creamy.  Add celery to pan and stir into the sauce.  Pour sauce over the chicken mixture.  Top with shredded cheese.  Baked 45 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and golden brown.  Serve hot with tortilla chips, French-bread cubes, celery sticks, Fritos scoops, or eat with a spoon! 

I have also done this recipe in the crockpot instead of the oven when I wanted to be able to keep it warm for a while.  It works equally well in the crockpot, you just don’t get browned cheese on top.  This is AWESOME for office potlucks, movie nights, sporting even get togethers, etc.  I don’t recommend it for church potlucks so much because you might become the focus of worship after folks have tasted it and that’s not altogether a good thing for church.  Just kidding!  Mostly……..

I’ll probably share another good Super Bowl recipe or two between now and then.  But this is a HUGE favorite at our house!  There’s never a bite left of it!  I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!  Go GIANTS!  Go PATRIOTS!………..Um, GO EAT!  Yeah, that’s the ticket! 

2 Responses

  1. ACK!! I think I accidentally created a Super Bowl party at my house…and I am going to be gone…ALL DAY that day..lol. I think I will throw that Buffalo Chicken Dip in the crockpot for that evening!!!

    Thanks, Amy

  2. Try this with chunky blue cheese dressing instead of ranch. Even if you’re not a fan of blue cheese, you’ll love this dip! Also, try topping it with a four-cheese blend (shredded). For a richer taste, cook the chicken breasts in buttermilk — then drain, and shred. I like to simmer the chicken in the hot sauce to blend flavors : )

Leave a Reply

