• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

More Super Bowl Food

YUM!  Y’all are going to wish TODAY was Super Bowl Sunday so you can go ahead and eat these!  Trust me!  They’re INSANE! 

I decided I would do some Man Food and some Chick Food in today’s entry.  The majority of us women just sit around and tolerate the Super Bowl.  So we need some Chick Food among all the Man Food set out for the Super Bowl.  So you get 2 recipes today instead of one. 

Let’s talk about the Man Food first.  Not that chicks won’t absolutely LOVE this, because I think you will….and if you don’t, I think there just might be something REALLY wrong with you so make a doctor’s appointment or something!  Cuz these are AWESOME!  But the menfolk tend to like the really meaty, less-dainty finger foods.  Show them the MEAT!  And I mean, how wrong can you go with chicken and bacon together?!?!?!  Let’s get serious!  That’s some amazing stuff right there!  So what do you need to make this delightfully, delectably, deliciously, death-defying dish?  OK, well maybe not exactly death-defying since it does have bacon and all.  Heart patients, high cholestrolers, hypertensive folks eat this at your own risk!  Here’s what you need to make Sticky Chili Chicken Bites:

*  4-6 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, large

*  1-2 pounds Bacon, thick-sliced

*  2 Tbsp. Chili Powder

*  1/8 tsp. Ground Cloves

*  1 cup Brown Sugar, firmly packed

*  Toothpicks

Cut chicken into large bite-sized pieces.  Cut bacon slices in half or thirds, depending on how large you cut the chicken chunks.  You decide!  This ain’t rocket science!  Wrap a slice of bacon around each piece of chicken and secure with a toothpick.  Now mix the brown sugar, cloves and chili powder together.  Yes, I know it sounds a little weird!  But trust me!  You won’t regret it!  Roll each piece of chicken in this mixture and lay on a baking sheet.  I prefer to use my baking stones (Pampered Chef) for this.  But if you don’t have those, use a cookie sheet covered in foil.  You might even want to double wrap it.  These aren’t called “Sticky” for no reason!  You will very much appreciate this advice when it comes time to wash the dishes!  Now bake them in a preheated 350° oven about 30-35 minutes.  This is going to depend on the size you cut the chicken.  If you cut larger chunks, they may need to go 40-45 minutes.  Just keep an eye on them and don’t let the sugar burn or let them overcook.  You’ll cry.  I would!  When they’re finished, the look a little something like this:

Sticky Chili Chicken

Excuse my poor photography skills in not wiping off the bowl before shooting the picture!  I had guests arriving momentarily! 

OK, let’s make some chick food for this shendig!  And again, as with the Sticky Bites, not that the menfolk won’t like this dish, but it’s NOT full of meat.  So they usually pass it by until their beautiful, charming, adorable wife insists they take a bite!  Then they’re hooked too! 

Truly, this is one of my very favorite dips!  It’s so versatile!  You can serve it for Super Bowl.  You can serve it at bridal or baby showers.  It’s good for Christmas parties, New Years Eve parties, 4th of July, the 3rd Tuesday in August-just-because-you-feel-like-it!  It’s wonderful with chips, crackers, bread cubes, by itself or with wings.  A good friend discovered that trick a few years ago.  She happened to drop her hot wing in some Cucumber Dill Dip and proclaimed it was way better than dipping it in ranch or bleu cheese!  It’s also great thinned down as a salad dressing!  You’ll be making this for years to come!

Cucumber Dill Dip

*  2 large cucumbers, peeled, seeded and chopped very small

*  1 bunch green onions, sliced

*  8 oz. cream cheese, softened to room temperature

*  1 cup mayonnaise

*  1 Tbsp. lemon juice

*  1/2 tsp. dill weed (or you can use fresh if you are lucky enough to have some, but use more!)

*  6-10 shakes of Tabasco sauce

*  3 cloves fresh garlic, minced (or to taste)

*  salt to taste

Whip the cream cheese and mayonnaise together.  A word of advice here.  Use GOOD mayo for this.  Some recipes will let you get by with using a less expensive mayo.  But I would use the good stuff in this.  I learned my lesson the hard way!  Add the dill, garlic, salt, lemon juice and Tabasco.  The Tabasco really IS integral to this recipe.  It doesn’t make it hot.  It just makes it a little kicky.  Trust me!  I wouldn’t lead you astray!  Whip again until all the spices are incorporated.  Then fold in the cucumbers and green onions.  Chill until ready to serve.  It looks a little something like this:

Cucumber Dill Dip

To thin it down for salad dressing, just add enough milk to get it the consistency you want.  That’s IF you have any left at the end of your party! 

I hope you enjoy these two recipes.  They’re favorites at my house.  My youngest could eat the entire bowl of Cucumber Dill Dip by himself!  No joke!  And those Stickies……well, let’s just say I caught the oldest sneaking them out of the fridge for BREAKFAST the morning after my Christmas Open House! 

Go GIANTS!  Go PATRIOTS!  GO EAT!!!!!!!  And eat well!

2 Responses

  1. I LOVE your new food blog! Rock on, O Queen of the Kitchen! And I love the way you gave me some awesome recipes to use up those boneless, skinless chicken breasts I have my freezer full of that were on sale at Food Lion a couple of weeks ago!

  2. Tell me more about that chocolate cake you have on the top of the page! I want to lick the monitor!!!

Leave a Reply

