• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

And yet MORE Super Bowl Food!

Can we eat yet?  For crying out loud!  Is it NEVER going to get time for this Super Bowl thing?  Geez!  I’m hungry already!  Well, I’m ALWAYS hungry!  But that’s beside the point!

 OK, so I promised you more Super Bowl food ideas!  This is not necessarily just Super Bowl food.  I make this for so many different occasions:  office get-togethers, baseball team parties, potlucks, birthdays, to send to work with the husband, etc.  But it will make great Super Bowl fare.  It’s a crowd-pleaser, no doubt!  And it’s just good, honest food.  Know what I mean?  It’s not fancy.  It’s not pretentious.  It’s just good grub!  And I LURVE me some good grub!  How ’bout you?! 

Let’s get cooking.  This is so simple it’s ridiculous!  If you can make taco meat and work a can opener, you’re more than halfway there, man!  My KIDS can make this!  And have!  And while we’re talking about that, let me just say that I don’t have picky eaters at my house.  My youngest son is “picky” compared to my oldest son.  But compared to other kids his age, he couldn’t even resemble “picky.”  My point in saying all this is, if you have a picky child at your house, get him or her in the kitchen with you!  When kids are invested in the preparation and cooking process, they’re a lot more apt to eat!  So get your kids in the kitchen with you!  Turn them loose with this recipe!  It’s a good start because it’s so simple!  You can teach them how to make souffles and lobster bisque later! 

South of the Border Dip

*  1 pound ground chuck

*  1 pkg. frozen seasoning blend (mixed onions, peppers, celery, parsley)

*  1 pkg. taco seasoning mix

*  1 can tomato soup

*  1 can RoTel

*  1 can whole kernel corn, drained

*  1 cup Minute Rice, cooked

*  1 lb. Velveeta

Brown the ground chuck with the seasoning blend mix.  Drain grease and rinse meat with hot water.  Cook 1 cup of Minute Rice according to package directions.  Add to drained meat.  Add taco seasoning packet, corn, RoTel, tomato soup and cheese.  At this point, you can finish it on the stove or you can dump it all in the crockpot and let ‘er rip.  You just need to melt the cheese and get everybody all married up and happy!   Voila!  DONE!  Serve with Frito scoops or tortilla chips…..or sit down with a spoon and the whole vat of it!  You won’t be sorry.  Unless you forgot to put on your “buffet britches!”  Then you might be sorry!  Not that anybody at my house would ever do such an uncouth thing as to get a bowlful and just eat it with a spoon.  Nuh uh!  No sirree!  ***cough cough……tall skinny man***  Just sayin’………..

This is truly one of those dishes that gets better the longer it sits.  So if you want to make this today for tomorrow’s big game, it will just be that much better!  I highly recommend it, in fact!  Just don’t do the aforementioned sitting down with a vat of it cuz you might not have anymore left.

Enjoy!  Get in the kitchen with your kids or your grandkids or your nieces and nephews or the neighborhood kid!  You pick the kid!  Let them help you out!  They’ll love it and you will too!  Food’s about more than eating!  It’s about memory-making too!  Build some memories for your kids.  And then have fun eating the fruits of your labor!  Together!

 Now look what y’all have done to me……made me go and get all sentimental.  Quit that!  GO eat!  Before I get all misty-eyed or something! 

One Response

  1. I looove the south of the boarder dip that you make!! If we ever have a party to go to or have a dinner at school i always make that south of the boarder dip and there is never any left!!! That recipe is a “go to” party food for me! I always keep the ingredients on hand just in case! Would you consider posting your grocery shopping list for planning your menus for the week. I have done my own, but knowing you are the master i would like a peek at yours. Love you all, Stef

Leave a Reply

