Monday Q & A

I want to tell you that I’ve had a BALL reading all your comments over the last week!  I LOVE them!  Keep them coming!  It just thrills me to see comments from folks all across the country and WORLD for that matter and even 1 comment over this last week from someone I don’t even know!  So you guys are obviously sharing my little blog with others!  THANKS for doing that! 

With that said, I think what I’m going to do is use each Monday entry for a little Q & A based on the comments and questions left over the previous week.  I want you to know that your comments and questions are important to me!  So here goes:

Marlene suggested taking the garlic herb seasoning I used on the Panko Chicken and mixing it with cream cheese, then slathering it on French bread and finally adding cheddar for a super-groovy grilled cheese.  I have actually done that before!  And it is SOOOOOO stinkin’ awesome!  Oh my!  Marlene, thanks for suggesting that here so that other folks will go out and try it now!  Seriously, y’all give that a try!  You’ll love it!  Mix up your herb mixtures and try different cheeses!  Play with your food!  It’s FUN!  And usually VERY tasty!

Cheryl made a suggestion to use a chunky bleu cheese dressing instead of ranch in the Buffalo Chicken Dip and try topping it with a cheese blend.  SHYEAH!  That’s what I’m talking about!  Change up recipes to suit your own tastes!  Recipes are just SUGGESTIONS, y’all!  Don’t take them too seriously!  If you prefer bleu cheese to ranch, change it up!  And the suggestion to cook the chicken in buttermilk!  OH MY!  I can’t wait to try that!  Thanks Cheryl! 

I had a request for my Caramel Brownie recipe from my Sarry Berry.  “Sarry Berry” is Sarah, my little French girl.  Our family hosted exchange students for 6 years.  We had all German girls until our last year when Sarah joined our family.  God never saw fit to give me biological daughters, but in His infinite wisdom, he gave me Anika, Elisabeth, Lena, Martina, Alex and finally Sarah.  Sarah, my love, you don’t need a recipe for Caramel Brownies!  You just need to COME HOME!  I’ll make you all the Caramel “Broonies” you can eat!  And “Monkey” Chicken and anything else you might want!  I love you!  I’ll tell the rest of you about “Monkey” Chicken another day! 

Stefanie’s just FULL of questions!  Stef’s my “fat babysitter!”  She’s actually not fat at all!  She’s beautiful and precious to our family!  I taught Stefanie in Sunday School when I was pregnant with my oldest.  Then Stef started babysitting for us when we had our catering business.  She babysat for us all through college.  And now she’s a teacher.  In fact, she was my youngest’s teacher last year.  We HIGHLY encouraged her to move up a grade and then move up and move up until the little one graduates.  But we just couldn’t convince her.  OK, so to her questions.  Stef wants to know about the cake in the sidebar.  Before I tell about the cake, here just another tidbit about Stefanie.  She loves cake!  LURVES it!  Especially mine and especially petit fours!  So this is the story about the cake.  It’s a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Torte.  I had a little summer luncheon at my house for the gals in my office.  I put on a little spread that day:  Choice of Cream of Asparagus Soup with a croissant or Tomato Florentine Tortellini Soup with Fresh Mozzarella Foccacia Bread as the first course.  Individual-sized Ham and Asparagus Quiche, Bacon and Broccoli Quiche and/or Tomato Basil Pie (like quiche, but without eggs) atop a mixed baby greens salad with smoked almonds, goat cheese, pears and figs with a pear and fig-infused balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  Then I pulled out this cake:

 Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Torte

The top and bottom layers are Double Dutch Fudge Cake.  The center layer is my “famous” Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake.  The frosting is Double Dutch Fudge French Buttercream Frosting with mini chocolate chips pressed into the sides.  I served it with Hot Fudge Sauce and fresh sweetened whipped cream.  Stef, just so you know, all that saliva is NOT good for your computer!  hehehe

And in case anyone wants to see it, this is Stefanie’s wedding cake that I made:

Stefanie’s Wedding Cake

OK, now on to the request to post my grocery list.  I literally laughed out loud when I read that request!  TOTALLY cracked up!  You really want to see my grocery list?  It might scare people!  I usually make my grocery list and menu plan for the upcoming week on Friday or Saturday.  So I’ll see what I can do! 

Lynn wanted to know if THE Super Sub was good.  Well, um, you’ll have to ask someone else.  Maybe the tall skinny man or the oldest ankle-biter or my brother or my SIL.  Cuz I was so full after half a Quesadilla that I didn’t even touch it!  The end I made for myself without any lettuce is sitting in the fridge right now!  And in all honesty, I probably won’t eat it because I took some Weight Watchers flex points to eat yesterday.  And I won’t blow the points on the sandwich to eat it now.  The rest of it is going to be dinner tonight though.  But maybe one of those folks who ate it will come along and comment to let you know for sure! 

Again, thank you all so much for visiting me and tolerating my rambling and silly musings!  I’ve wanted to start a food blog for a while, but just have never bit the bullet and done it.  This past week has been so much fun figuring out what I was going to post!  And reading your comments has been nothing but pure joy!  Thanks for letting me have an outlet for all things food in my brain! 

Have a fabulous week!  Eat well and often!  Food is LOVE! 

9 Responses

  1. Amy, I have to say again, I am loving your food blog! I wish I had a piece of that chocolate cake right now! LOL…even though it is only 8:12 a.m. my time. Steph’s wedding cake is so neat!

  2. DON’T JUDGE AMY’S COOKIN’ (THOSE OF YOU POOR SOULS THAT ARE DEPRIVED) BY LOOKIN’ AT ME & THE ANKLE BITERS!! WE HAVE TO HAVE HER TO SURVIVE. WE’RE ALL 3 WALKIN’ “AMY’S KITCHEN DISPOSAL UNITS” AND HAVE TO HAVE HUGE QUANTITIES OF SUSTAINANCE OR WE WOULD DRY UP AND BLOW AWAY. MY ONE GRIPE IS THAT SHE DOESN’T HAVE A WORLD-WIDE DISTRIBUTION CENTER. I HATE THAT YOU GUYS OUT THERE CAN’T “PLOW UP” LIKE WE DO ON A NORMAL BASIS! REALLY, I DO!!!!!! HEEHEE

  3. I’m SO thrilled that you’re doing this blog girlfriend!! Oh Great Master of Food! 🙂

    And TALL SKINNY MAN….I’m not deprived!!! I’m also thrilled that I’ve been one of the blessed and fortunate ones to have experienced this mastery with my own tastebuds. I’m just envious of your’s and The Ankle Biters’ metabolism!

    Amy,you, my friend, are a staple in my kitchen! LOL! Or at least your recipes are. 🙂

  4. why did i read this AFTER i ate lunch……….sigh………now i have to go find some pepperocini peppers to munch on…….

  5. I have had Amy’s cakes…they are AWESOME!!!

  6. Amy, I want to know how to make that chocolate cake!! It isn’t fair to post that picture when I am PMSing!!! Also, hello to the TALL SKINNY MAN and his 2 smaller cohorts. I live in envy of your lovely lady’s cooking!!

  7. My mom is the best cook EVER ! I love her cooking.

  8. Well, i really appreciat the little thing about the cake obsession! I know i am not alone!! When i read the part about me i cried. I think it is PMS, but still it is so nice to hear some good things about your self. Tell that TALL SKINNY MAN hello and your two ankle bitter i miss them also. Tootles

  9. Every time I see that cake it brings back such great memories! Two of my favorite things in the WHOLE world… My sweet husband and cake:)

Leave a Reply

