Weekly Menus—February 9-February 15

Is menu planning as hard for you all as it is for me!?  I HATE IT!  I have so much trouble coming up with something to feed my family!  It’s an absolutely excruciating job for me.  During the process……I ask.  I beg.  I plead.  I threaten.  I cry.  I pull out my hair.  I gnash my teeth.  I wail.  I kill people.  Well, OK, maybe not all those!  I always ask the family what they want.  They hem-haw around about not knowing what they might want.  Then they end up suggesting like the last three things I’ve made, which I’m obviously NOT going to make again right away. 

So after much lamenting, we FINALLY have a menu for this week:

Saturday:  Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Sausage Gravy, Fried Potatoes, & Biscuits

Sunday:  Roasted Turkey, Dressing, Mashed Potatoes, English Peas, Pinto Beans, Fried Corn, Macaroni & Cheese, Slaw, Scalloped Pineapple & Mayonnaise Muffins

Monday:  Lead Bellies

Tuesday:  Stir-Fried Cabbage Beef

Wednesday:  Crockpot BBQ, Baked Beans, Baked Fries, & Slaw

Thursday:  Valentine’s Day so I hope we’re going out!

Friday:  OUT!  We almost always go out to dinner on Friday nights with my brother and SIL.

Now here’s where I read your mind!  Lead Bellies?  WHAT IN THE WORLD ARE LEAD BELLIES?  Right?  That’s what you’re sitting there thinking!  You’ve pretty much got the rest of the menu figured out, but not those.

Lead Bellies were born when we had our bakery and catering business.  We served lunch everyday and always offered two different selections.  Lead Bellies ranked at the top of the list of our most popular lunches! 

The Lead Bellies we’ll have this week won’t be nearly as large, but when we had the shop, we served 1 pound baked potatoes topped with a choice of diced ham, chopped bacon, sliced green onions, sauted mushrooms, sour cream, sauted peppers and onions, salsa, steamed broccoli, cheese, etc.  It was so heavy, it was like lead in your belly.  Hence, Lead Bellies! 

When I served them in the shop, the 1 pound potato was the “gimic” to draw folks in.  Have y’all ever tried to eat a 1 pound tater?  That’s like lead itself!  Not to mention adding all those other things to it!  So when I make them at home, we do a MUCH smaller potato!

This is also a Weight Watchers-friendly meal!  I can load mine up with oodles of the steamed broccoli and saute peppers and onions and salsa and feel like I got to eat this massive meal!  So I LOVE Lead Bellies night!

So there’s our menus for the week!  Now you guys tell me what you’re having!  What’s on the menu at your house?  Inspire me!  Help me out so I don’t have to work so hard next week planning menus! 

Leave a Reply

