Fried Green Tomatoes, Redone

You know what?  I love Fried Green Tomatoes.  LOVE them!  LOVE, LOVE, LURVE me some Fried Green Tomatoes.  You know the problem with that?  It’s that whole FRIED thing.  It just ain’t good for you.  And it just ain’t Weight Watchers-friendly……especially when you could eat the whole sizzling vat of them in one sitting!

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been doing Weight Watchers for 3 years now.  I’ve had a bit of a backslide and have gained back some of what I lost.  But I’m trying to overcome that little challenge right now.

Last summer, I got a good, old-fashioned hankerin’ for Fried Green Tomatoes.  I wanted ’em so bad!  But I just couldn’t see blowing the points on frying something that was so healthy to begin with. 

So I sat down and tried to figure out a way to be able to eat Fried Green Tomatoes.  Now different folks do their Fried Green Tomatoes different ways.  Some folks do a batter and dip each slice of green tomato in the batter, then deep fry them.  That’s not have my Moma and Granny did it.  They lightly dusted the slices of green tomatoes with a mixture of cornmeal and flour, then fried them up all together in a cast iron skillet full of bacon grease, kind of like you’d toss in slices of potatoes to fix fried potatoes.  They didn’t fry each individual slice of green tomato.  And because that’s how I grew up, that’s how I prefer them.  But I just ain’t all THAT picky about it.  I’ll eat them any old way.

And it turns out, that’s a good thing because I couldn’t formulate any way to do them like my Moma and Granny did and them come out even remotely healthy. 

Here’s what I did.  I sliced the tomatoes fairly thin.  Not paper thin, but not big thick honkin’ slices either.  Then I dipped them in buttermilk , which is low-fat and tossed them in some Italian breadcrumbs.  VOILA!  That’s it!  So simple! 

I laid them all out in a single layer on my Pampered Chef baking stones and baked in a preheated 375° oven about 25 minutes.  I was also baking a Vegetable Lasagna in the same oven on the rack above it.  The Vegetable Lasagna didn’t happen to be even a tiny bit healthy or low fat.  And it had the audacity to drip ooey gooey non-low fat cheese down into my very healthy non-fried green tomatoes.  I was NOT a happy camper. 

So my experiment to make non-fried green tomatoes healthy was a bust that day.  What’s a girl to do with her non-fried green tomatoes when a quarter of the dish has a good, healthy dose of melty, delicious cheese sauce in it?  Well, add more dang cheese, of course!  DUH!

Here’s how they turned out:

Baked Green Tomatoes

I added a good deal of freshly grated Asiago cheese to the top.  And I have to tell you, there wasn’t even a teeny crumb left of those non-low fat, non-healthy, non-fried green tomatoes that day.  It was my BFF’s birthday and I put on an Italian spread like you wouldn’t believe cuz that’s what she wanted.  And Kak Kak (what the ankle biters have called her since they were babies because they couldn’t say her name) gets what Kak Kak wants when it’s her birthday. 

I have made these Baked Green Tomatoes (sans ooey gooey cheese mistake) several times since then when a craving for fried green tomatoes got flung on me.  And they are every bit as good as fried green tomatoes are.  They really are! 

A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned Panko.  If I can ever remember to stop by the little “bent and dent” store where I got that first box of Panko or remember to pick some up the next trip to Whole Foods, I’m going to try them with Panko instead of bread crumbs.  I think the Panko would really give them that same texture as actual fried green tomatoes.  I’ll report back when I do that little experiment.

In the meatime, if you’re a good little Southern girl like me (or a good little Southern boy, or heck, even a BAD one!!!) and get a craving flung on you for fried green tomatoes, but you’re also fat like me and want to do better, give these a try!  They’re delicious! 

Now let’s quit talking about these because I’m getting hungry!  And it’s not usually customary to eat green tomatoes for breakfast! 

Have a great day!  Eat something wonderful!  See you tomorrow and maybe I’ll have some weekly menus planned up for you!

2 Responses

  1. Yum..I am going to make tomatoes like these, this summer!!! I hate frying. Period. These will be perfect for me!! Thanks..

  2. These sound so good! I love Fried Green Tomatoes! I will definetly have to give them a try!

Leave a Reply

