Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

We were supposed to have Buffalo Chicken Lasagna last night for dinner.  That’s what I put on the menu anyway.  But I woke up feeling like total, complete and utter crap yesterday morning.  YIPPEE!  It’s always fabulous to feel nasty on a holiday from work.  Especially when TSM took a vacation day so we could go have some fun.  So my “fun” was laying in the recliner under my huge down comforter shivering and sucking on a bottle of cough medicine all day long.  I sure live large on days I don’t have to go to work!   

Needless to say, there was no Buffalo Chicken Lasagna at my house last night.  We ate leftover burgers from TSM’s birthday.  But I still want to share this recipe with you.  I think it’s going to be wonderful!  I’m going to post it as I copied it.  Then I’m going to tell you about the alterations I plan to make when I no longer feel like crud and actually do make this.

Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

*  12 whole wheat lasagna noodles

*  1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed

*  3 cups Hunt’s Four Cheese Spaghetti Sauce

*  1 cup very mild buffalo wing sauce

*  1 1/2 cups water

*  15 oz. non-fat ricotta cheese

*  1/2 cup egg substitute

*  9 slices 2% pepperjack cheese

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Spray skillet with non-stick cooking spray.  Cook chicken over medium high heat 4 minutes or until almost done.  Stir in sauces and water.  In a small bowl, combine ricotta cheese and egg substitute.  Spray a 9″ X 13″ pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Spread 1 cup of sauce in the bottom of pan.  Top with 4 noodles.  Spread more sauce then spread ricotta mixture on top of sauce.  Arrange 4 noodles on top.  Keep repeating process until you end with sauce.  Cover and bake 70 minutes.  Uncover and place 9 cheese slices on top.  Bake additional 15 minutes, uncovered.  Allow to stand 10 minutes before serving.

 9 servings.  285 calories per serving, 4 grams fat, 5 grams fiber. 

MY NOTES:  I’m going to cook the chicken in a mixture of water and hot sauce, then shred it.  I plan to eliminate the spaghetti sauce and add a whole bottle of wing sauce to the chicken.  Then I am going to add some diced celery in with the ricotta mixture for some crunch. 

I think this sounds SOOOOO good!  If the original recipe information is correct, this would be 5 Weight Watchers points.  I will run it through the recipe builder before I actually count it as 5 points though. 

 As soon as I feel better, I’ll be making this!  Maybe tonight, maybe not depending on how I feel later in the day!  At the moment, it just ain’t looking promising for tonight either. 

But I hope all of YOU have a fabulous day!  See you tomorrow!

6 Responses

  1. Hope you are feeling better, real soon. That’s the pits, being sick on your day off…oh well, it was nice of TSM to take a vacation day to answer to your every, little whim. ROTFL

  2. Oh this sounds SO good! I think I’ll not eliminate the entire lot of spag. sauce but do 1/2 and 1/2. And then how about in addition to the celery, add some bleu cheese crumbles to the mixture!? YUM!

    Now…I have to find whole wheat lasagna noodles in my one horse town! LOL!

  3. Just realized….are there low fat or non fat bleu cheese crumbles?? Adding those defeats the purpose of being a WW friendly meal, huh? Hmmmm…..you got me thinkin’.

    Oh yeah, I wanted to ask you also. What’s the divine strawberry yum cake you have a pic of up top? I know I’ve probably seen it before, and you’ve told us what it is, but I’m salivating! And it might be a possibility for a different type/flavor of cake to do for the wedding reception I’m doing in May.

  4. I have a question on this recipe. Being a non-natural cook, I wanted to be sure I substitute correctly. I do not have egg substitute in the house, and I do not want to go back out to the store since I happen to have the rest of the ingredients and want to make this tonight. I know I can use regular eggs, but just wanted to ask if you know how many I would use? 1, 2?

    Also, would it work just as well to bake the chicken and then cut it up into small pieces/cubes, or is the point of cooking it in the pan to make it more moist? If I can bake it, that just keeps me able to do other things while it’s cooking rather than being a slave to the stove. If I can bake it…would I take it out before it is fully cooked? Let’s say I usually bake chicken for 20 min…when would I take it out for this recipe since I know the chicken will cook more inside the lasagna and ya don’t want it to be too dried out by then!???

    Thanks for your help!
    Elaine

  5. Elaine, I’m sorry I’m just now getting a chance to answer you! I’m sure your lasagna is long-since cooked and eaten by now. 😦

    2 eggs beaten would have been just fine! And baking the chicken would work equally as well! But I would definitely always bake/cook it completely done and not rely on the cooking time of the lasagna to finish cooking it.

    I hope it turned out alright for you!

  6. Made it and love it!!!! Even better since I’m starting weight watchers! My kids loved it too!

Leave a Reply

