• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Homemade Soup—The Best Medicine

I’m still sick.  Yippee!  And now Ankle Biter #2 is too!  Double Yippee! 

I’ve been so sick this week, I think I’d have to get better to DIE.  Think hacking up a lung, throat so sore it feels like you ate shards of glass then downed a rubbing alcohol chaser, nose running, head splitting, aching all over…………get the picture?  Fun stuff, no doubt! 

My SIL called this morning to check on me.  I can’t talk.  I can’t even squeak today.  Yesterday I could squeak.  Today, it’s a whisper.  She asked if some homemade chicken noodle soup sounded good for supper.  Do bears go in the woods!?!??!  SHYEAH!  Homemade soup for supper sounds like just the ticket!

Since it’s obvious there’s going to be no Buffalo Chicken Lasagna or Chicken Enchiladas here this week, I sent the chicken next door to be made into soup. 

Turns out my little Nephrina has been sick too.  While AB2 and I seem to have some kind of upper respiratory funk, the Nephrina has apparently had some kind of vicious gastrointestinal funk leaving him praying to the porcelain god the past couple days.  God bless his little heart…..and gut.  So Unk is making soup for the sickies. 

This is not the soup we’re having for dinner, but it’s a quickie soup for when you want soup, but don’t have a lot of time.  So I thought I’d do a little copy and paste for a quickie blog entry today. 

Easy Potato Soup

*  1 pkg. frozen hashbrowns

*  1 pkg. frozen seasoning blend (mixed peppers, onions, celery and parsley)

*  4 cups chicken broth

*  garlic, to taste

*  1 cup sour cream

*  1/2 cup bacon, chopped

*  1 cup cheddar cheese

*  1 can cream of whatever soup (whatever you have in your pantry)

Cook hashbrowns and seasoning blend in chicken broth.  Add remaining ingredients and simmer about 15-20 minutes.  Top with additional cheese and sliced green onions if desired.

I make a much more involved potato soup, but if you want quick and easy, it doesn’t get much quicker and easier than this one.  And it sure fits the bill when you want something thick and hearty to eat to warm your bones.

 You know what I wish for all of you?  Someone to make you soup when you’re sick.  Cuz there’s just no better medicine than homemade soup!  Go make some for someone you love that’s feeling puny! 

4 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you and now, AB#2, are sick still. I have heard of making Potato Soup using hash browns, but I have never tried it. This one sounds like it would have lots of flavor to it. Hope you are both feeling better, real soon!

  2. Feel better, good lookin’ people!!! You are REALLY hit with this stuff…feel better and take care…

  3. I was just thinking about making potato soup and this sounds so easy. Thanks!

    I hope you all feel better soon. So many people are sick right now.

  4. I hope you all feel better! Keep us updated on the sickness! I would make some soup for you up i am not ready to lay it upon your alter of awsome cookness.

Leave a Reply

