Beef Stroganoff

YOO HOO!  Anybody home around here?  Sorry to leave you hanging like that.  It’s been a rough few days around my house.  First I came down with the death disease, then the smallest ankle biter came down with it.  It just ain’t been a fun week around our house!  I hope you all can avoid the crud coming to your house for a visit! 

So I finally felt semi-human again yesterday after spending most of the week so sick I would have had to get better to die!  And I woke up in need of comfort food!  SERIOUS comfort food!

What would that be?  I ran through a bunch of things before finally settling on Beef Stroganoff.  Why Beef Stroganoff?  Heck if I know!  That is NOT something I typically think of when I think “comfort food.”  But somehow that ended up being the one thing that sounded good to me. 

So that’s what ended up comforting this family last night for dinner.  I don’t know if it was because I’ve been sick for days and weeks and months and years on end……..or what seemed like it anyway………or if this meal just really rocked out loud.  But the whole family went buck wild over it like they’d never had a bite to eat in their lives!  It was crazy!  I mean these folks sat at the table making grunting NOISES!

Wanna make some Beef Stroganoff? 

Beef Stroganoff

*  2 pounds stew beef

*  1 large 0nion, diced

*  3-4 garlic cloves, minced

*  salt and pepper, to taste

*  1 bunch fresh parsley, chopped

*  1 jar beef gravy

*  1 can cream of mushroom soup

*  1 cup sour cream

*  cooked egg noodles

Heat 2-3 Tbsp. olive oil in a heavy pot.  Add onion to pot and begin to saute.  Sprinkle meat with salt and pepper.  Saute’ meat in oil until just browned.  Add gravy.  Fill jar halfway with water.  Rinse and add to pot.  Add garlic.  Simmer meat on very low heat 2 hours.  Add parsley, sour cream and cream of mushroom soup.  Simmer 30 more minutes.  Serve hot over cooked egg noodles.

It’s pretty sad how simple this was and how happy it made my family.  My SIL informed me today they were all in withdrawals because I hadn’t cooked in a week!  LOL  I’m glad they’re so easy to make happy! 

I served this with Mashed Potatoes, because that is truly comfort food for me, and Mixed Vegetable Casserole.  My SIL made my favorite salad, Napa Cabbage Salad.  And I made some Mayonnaise Muffins.  All in all, a very comforting meal!

Now, I’ve got cakes to finish.   I’ve been up to my eyeballs in cake since before the crack of dawn this morning!  See y’all tomorrow for Monday Q & A!  Y’all throw me some questions, would ya?

One Response

  1. I’m so glad to see you are feeling like posting again! I have a question. What do your Mayo Muffins taste like, is there anyway you can describe them? How does your SIL make the Napa Cabbage Salad?

Leave a Reply

