Monday Q & A: February 25, 2008

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD Monday morning, friends!  It’s good to have last week in the rear view mirror!  That is definitely one week I don’t care to ever repeat thankyouverymuch!  Whatever hit our house is as close to hell as I care to come!  WHEW! 

So let’s move on, shall we?  Let’s dish!  Some questions from this week:

Are there low-fat bleu cheese crumbles? 

Good question.  I am not knowing.  I can’t say that I’ve ever looked for any.  My instinct says “no,” but I couldn’t be certain.  I have seen fat free feta cheese before.  But never any bleu that was light.

What’s the divine strawberry yum cake you have a pic of up top?

That cake was my BFF’s birthday cake.  The top and bottom layers are strawberry cake.  The middle layer is a New York Style Cheesecake.  In between each layer is my strawberry “goo.”  I cook strawberries down with sugar until they are so thick and yummy!  And that’s strawberry “goo!”   Then it was frosted with regular strawberry frosting.   I thinned some of the “goo” down with some orange juice and drizzled it all over.  I topped the cake with white chocolate dipped strawberries. 

Where in Nashville can you find this mecca called Whole Foods?

If you go through Columbia and hit I-65, take the 440 Parkway toward Memphis.  The first exit is 21st Avenue and Green Hills.  Go toward Green Hills.  You’ll find it in a groovy little shopping village past the Green Hills Mall at 4021 Hillsboro Pike.  Be prepared to drop some cash!  It’s fabulous beyond belief, but it ain’t cheap!  You’ll find amazing things you have never even been able to wrap your head around!

What do your Mayonnaise Muffins taste like?

Basically like a very thick, sweet biscuit.  They have much the same texture as a biscuit, except sweetened.  That’s probably the best way to describe them.  Oh and DELICIOUS!  Oh, oh, and ADDICTING!  Yeah!  That’s the word I was looking for! 

How does your SIL make the Napa Cabbage Salad?

VERY WELL!  LOL  I know most of the stuff that goes in it, but I don’t have the real recipe.  I know it’s shredded Napa cabbage, toasted almonds, green onions, crushed Ramen noodles and a dressing made with some oil and vinegar  along with the seasoning packets from the Ramen noodles.   It is absolutely phenonemal!  Since I can’t eat lettuce, it is my absolute favorite salad!  I could eat the whole bowl! 

That’s all in the way of questions this week.  Thanks for all those!  And thank you all for your well-wishes during the infestation of the death disease.  I hope and pray that it doesn’t visit your homes.  It’s just evil, wicked, mean and nasty stuff!

I didn’t make any new menus this week since I didn’t end up cooking any of my menus last week.  So nothing new to share in the way of menus this week. 

I will share that I made the Buffalo Chicken Lasagna last night with the changes I mentioned I would make.  And it was AWESOME!  The whole family went wild over it!  It’s definitely a keeper!

OK, have a great week!  Cook something fabulous and report back about it!  See you tomorrow!

One Response

  1. Oh! I have eaten that Napa Cabbage salad, BUT, it was made with broccoli. I love it! I’m betting I would love it made with the cabbage, as well. I love cabbage, just about anyway you fix it! I may just have to make those Mayonnaise biscuits to see what they’re all about. They sound yummy! Love reading your blog! I can hardly wait from day to day to read it!

Leave a comment