• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Favorites……

Let’s talk about some favorites today.  My favorite brother is sick with the evil death disease I had last week.  Well, he’s actually my ONLY brother, but he’s still my favorite.  He’d be my favorite even if I had 12 brothers.  Cuz he’s just favorite-worthy that way.  And he’s sick.  Did I mention that he’s sick?  Well, he is.  And it ain’t purty.  It wasn’t purty this time last week when it was ME that was sick.  And it ain’t gettin’ any purtier.

 But I digress.  So my favorite brother has some favorite foods.  I think I’ve already mentioned his total, complete and utter love affair with Honeybun Cake.  But there are some other things that he just loves. 

A year or so ago, I was desperately searching the deepest recesses of my little pea-brain for a different side dish to prepare.  I just don’t dig the “same old-same old” all the time.  I need new and different.  So I happened to remember this dish my Moma used to make fairly frequently and I whipped it up and plopped it on the table.

Oh Lordy!  You’ve never seen such a production made over some grub!  Unk went on and on about that being the best thing he’d ever had and never having it before, blah blah blah.  I told him Moma used to make it all the time.  He said he’d never seen it or tasted it before.  I told him he smoked crack and we moved on.

So what was this delightful dish?  It’s a little something Moma called “Breaded Tomatoes.”  I don’t know if she just made the recipe up or if she read a recipe umpteen hundred years ago that turned into her Breaded Tomatoes.  All I know is I’ve never seen or heard of this dish anywhere else before.

It’s so simple it is RIDICULOUS!  And it sounds a little weird.  I know that.  But I promise the flavor will blow you away!  So let’s make Cat’s Breaded Tomatoes, shall we?

Cat’s Breaded Tomatoes

*  2 cans diced tomatoes (DO NOT DRAIN!)

*  1 small onion, diced

*  1/2 bell pepper, diced

*  1 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning

*  3 cloves garlic, minced

*  6 slices bread, toasted and crumbled

*  1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Toast bread and crumble it.  Any bread will do!  Add all remaining ingredients except cheese.  Stir until well-combined and the bread is soaked with juices from the tomatoes.  Spray a casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray.  Pour tomatoes in dish and top with cheese.  Bake in a pre-heated 350° oven until bubbly.

And that’s Breaded Tomatoes.  It ain’t sexy food.  But it’s good, honest food that tastes incredible!  And it happens to be one of Unk’s favorites.  And today’s all about Unk since he feels like pond scum. 

Seriously, this dish is amazing alongside anything Italian.  It’s great with grilled steak or chicken.  Heck, I usually make it for Thanksgiving and Easter along with the ham and turkey!  It’s versatile enough you could eat it with so many different meals!  Or it’s hearty enough it could BE the meal!  Add a little more cheese to bulk up the protein factor and you’d have a great main dish instead of a side dish. 

I hope you enjoy this particular favorite of Unk’s and most of my family.  Aunt Dee isn’t overly fond of it, but we’ll talk about her favorites another day.  Maybe it will become a favorite at your house too!

See y’all tomorrow!  And I just might have some cake for you………

One Response

  1. My dear friend in Ohio made this one time when I was at her house. I had never had it before. I don’t think she toasted her bread though, she just tore it into pieces and added to the tomatoes. It was really tasty though, I remember liking it. I have never fixed it myself. I really think I like the idea of toasting the bread, oh, and I do not remember any cheese on her’s. I bet your’s is really yummy! Cake…did you say cake? Oh Yum!

Leave a Reply

