Let Them Eat Cake

I promised you cake today!!!!!  And cake you shall have!  Well, sorta.  I feel compelled to warn you that licking your monitor can do serious damage to your computer and possibly result in a grievous shocking incident to your tongue.  So I HIGHLY discourage the practice of monitor licking in an attempt to taste the cakes.  Just sayin’……..But you do have many PHOTOS of cakes to enjoy!  I just wish there was a way for you to taste and smell ’em too!  Cuz I just love y’all that way and wish cake for you!

So without further ado, let’s discuss cake.  Yesterday was a bittersweet day.  My Aunt Linda retired from the Dept. of Human Services after 467 years.  Well, OK, not REALLY 467 years.  But a long, LONG time.  I honestly don’t ever remember a time of knowing my Aunt Linda and her NOT working there.  I say it was bittersweet because her office adjoins my office.  So I’m happy for her, but sad for me that she’s not going to be over on “the other side” anymore. 

Her co-workers had her a beautiful cake reception yesterday to send her off in style.  Even though I don’t work “with” them, per se, because I work for a different department for the state, I wanted to do a little something for the reception as well.  I made Linda’s favorite cake…….well, her favorite cake that I make.  And I made a chocolate/chocolate/chocolate/chocolate/with a little chocolate on top of the chocolate cake too.  Other ladies made Coconut Cake, Caramel Cake, Red Velvet Cake, Hummingbird Cake, Pineapple Cake, and Cherry Pound Cake.  The table was just beautiful! 

Linda’s Retirement 1

Linda Retirement 2

Gorgeous, no? 

Linda Retirement 3

This is the Chocolate Fudge Cake I made.  It’s 4 layers of double Dutch fudge cake with chocolate buttercream frosting in between each layer and drizzled with chocolate ganache. 

Linda’s Retirement 4

And this is after it was cut.  

Linda’s favorite cake that I make is my Strawberry White Chocolate Ganache Cake.  When I had my bakery, it was probably my most popular, most ordered cake.  This one was 4 layers of French vanilla cake (it’s usually 8 thin layers!) with strawberry orange filling in between each layer, frosted with French vanilla frosting and drizzled with white chocolate ganache.  And this is it:

Linda Retirement 7

Linda Retirement 5

This is it after it was cut.   I usually dust the top with white chocolate shavings so it looks like snow, but I forgot to bring my baggie full of shavings. 

But we got Linda all retired-up in fashion!  It was a fabulous party befitting a fabulous lady!  See?

Linda Retirement 6

Didn’t she look beautiful?  She always does!  She’s beautiful inside and out!  Happy Retirement Linda!  I hope you and ole Bud have many years of happy retirement together!  I love you both!

OK, friends and neighbors!  There’s your cake!  I wish you all could’ve been there!  But for now, the photos will have to get you through!  Enjoy!  And remember not to lick the screen!  It won’t be purty what happens!!!

 See you tomorrow!

4 Responses

  1. JUST TO RUB IT IN, I HAD TO SAMPLE THE LEFT OVERS FROM BOTH OF THESE CAKES (JUST TO MAKE SURE THEY TASTED GOOD AND DIDN’T POISON ANYONE, OF COURSE). THEY PASSED THE TEST! WHOOHOO!! BUT DON’T BE HATIN’!!!!!

  2. OH.MY.GOSH. Those cakes are beautiful, picture perfect, cakes! And to T.S.M….putting my fingers in my ears….la,la,la, I don’t hear you! LOL

  3. shhhhhh TSM………i’m craving some cake now, and i don’t want to have to hurt you…..

  4. Were can I get the recipe for the chocolate fudge cake.
    It looks so delicious.

Leave a Reply

