Monday Q & A: March 3, 2008

Good Monday morning!  The weather here was absolutely GLORIOUS this weekend! The sun was shining.  The birds were singing.  We had baseball tryouts in weather that wasn’t frigid for the first time EVER!  The youngest ankle biter and I shared some sun-time on the deck yesterday afternoon.  FABULOUS, FABULOUS weekend!  Spring is coming!  This time next week, we’ll be getting an extra hour of daylight!  I LIVE for daylight savings time!

What does all that have to do with food and cooking?  Not a thing really.  But I LOVE spring.  It’s my absolute favorite time of year!  It’s like the earth wakes up again and comes alive.  So I just thought I’d share some of my happy with you this morning before we talk about other stuff.

Only one “question” this week in the way of Donna wanting to know how the dinner party went.  But LOTS of comments!  THANKS!

The dinner party was amazing!  We had such an amazing time hosting these folks in our home who are helping “J!”  What a joy and blessing to get to treat people who are doing so much for someone without expecting anything in return.  Seeing what these folks are doing for “J” has really renewed a lot of my faith in mankind.  There really ARE still some good people left in this world.  And it’s such an honor to be able to witness it!  We had a great time sitting around the table laughing, talking….EATING…..and EATING……and EATING some more! LOL  “J” thought I was “only” making Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo, Salad, Bread and Dessert.  Imagine her surprise when she got here and found Cheese and Spinach-Stuffed Manicotti with Italian Sausage in a White Sauce, Eggplant Parmesan, Caesar Salad with homemade Caesar dressing and homemade croutons, a balsamic/olive oil dipping sauce for the homemade foccacia bread and a homemade marinara for dipping it too………..She was blown away.  And her friends who have been helping her were blown away too.  So I was thrilled to get to be a small part of that blessing!

Kim, I just want you to know that you were my first introduction to Paula Deen.  Do you remember bringing some of her cookbooks of hers down to Macon when we went to Donna’s Spiritual Spa Weekend?  Your parents had picked up some of her cookbooks during one of their trips down to Savannah, GA.  I’d never heard of her way back in 2000 when we went down to Donna’s.  I sat in the hotel room reading those cookbooks. That was before the whole world knew who she was!  Now I think I probably own every single one of her cookbooks! LOL

Marlene, Kelli—thank you for sharing your favorite Food Network folks with me.  It’s always fun to hear why other folks like different personalities!  I just have such a ball watching Food Network.  I’m glad there are other folks out there like me who just eat it up! 

And that’s about it for this Monday’s Q&A.  But since spring is around the corner (THANK YOU, GOD!!!!!!), I thought we might talk about spring and summer cooking a little this week!  So stick around for some grilling ideas and spring and summer fare this week!  Spring is about to get sprung!  And I can’t wait!

See y’all tomorrow!  Have an absolutely blessed week! 

3 Responses

  1. I knew your party would turn out perfect! I would love to be near enough to lick some of the leftovers crumbs off of the plates! LOL Especially that cheesecake!

  2. Hi, my name is stefanie and i am in a side dish rut… Help! We had a garden last year and had 14 tons of corn on the cob! We have grilled and boiled it untill we are sick. Please throw me a bone and suggest some new side dishes.

  3. Amy,

    Your dinner sounded so awesome! I can only imagine what a blessing it was to see the looks on “J’s” and the family who has helped her tremendously when they walked into your beautiful home and were treated to a feast that rivaled and I wouldn’t be off mark to say “kicked butt” over an Fancy Schmancy Italian Resturant! How I long to go to Tennessee someday.

    And for this young lady Stefanie, don’t you have a fantastic recipe for a side casserole dish with corn? I can’t seem to remember the name, but right now I’m not feeling very well and my head hurts so much that I can’t think straight. Seems that bug you had a while back made it’s way here to CA so I’m going to the doctors today,hopefully I can get something to help me out.

    I love your page and I tried to answer your favorites when you posted that blog, but then my answers wouldn’t go through and I gave up. LOL! But I’ll try to keep track from now on. Take care and have a Blessed Day!

    Deborah & Eleanor~Rose.

Leave a Reply

