• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

True Confession

It seems some kind of little tummy bug hit Ankle Biter 2.  Night before last, he got up about midnight and informed me he’d thrown up in his bed.  He also informed me he had already stripped the sheets off the bed.  How sweet is he!?!?!?  This kid is the best “thrower-upper” I’ve ever come across.  He does his thing, it’s over and he just moves on like nothing happened.  He got his pillow and blanket and slept in the hallway floor outside the bathroom the rest of the night in case he got sick again.

OK, enough about the pukies.  What started this particular post is that when AB2 finally got over the icky tummy and wanted to eat again, he asked for canned soup.  Chicken Noodle Soup to be exact.  So I called TSM and asked him to bring some home when he got off work.  And to bring a few extra cans too.

I think y’all know by now that I love to cook.  And I love to have homemade food to feed those that I love.  But you know what? It’s true confession time here!  God help me, but I LOVE me some canned soup!  It’s a guilty pleasure comfort food for me! 

Before we proceed, let’s just get this out in the open right now.  I am a food snob for the most part.  I have never fed my family Hamburger Helper.  My kids don’t even know what it is other than having seen commercials for it on TV.  I have never bought one of those “bagged” meals in the freezer section.  Ever.  Unless they’ve had it at someone else’s house, the Ankle Biters have never had macaroni and cheese from a box.  I just prefer to make things homemade and with my own flair as a general rule.

However, there are a few food items that are such wonderfully guilty pleasure comfort foods to me!  And canned soup falls smack dab at the top of the list!  I sat here last night and ate not 1, but 2 cans of canned chicken noodle soup for supper!  I was hungry and it was good, doggone it!  I also have a thing for canned tomato soup.  And if you add a grilled cheese to dunk in it, that is something akin to heaven for me!  No joke!  I absolutely love it! 

It’s ironic that I even know about this kind of stuff, because my mom was very much like I am with regard to making things homemade.  Most everything at our house was not just made from scratch, but grown in the ground beside our house!  She just didn’t keep a lot of convenience foods around.  But there was an exception!  There was ALWAYS canned soup in the cabinet under the oven when I was growing up!  At any given time, I could dig in the cabinet under that oven and find such treasures as Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup or Tomato Soup or even Alphabet Soup!  And I loved the stuff!  Still do and probably always will!

So this made me think………..if I have these guilty pleasures, some of you must have them too!  Now look, don’t be hatin’ because I’m a food snob, ‘k?  Come eat with me a time or twelve when I’m NOT fixing canned soup and I’ll make you into a food snob too!  :o) 

But seriously, I think we all probably have some little thing that we consider to be a comfort food yet it is not necessarily something mom made homemade for us growing up.  I have a few others, but I’ll share those for another day to shock you! 

So what’s your guilty pleasure comfort food that isn’t from scratch?  Share with me!  And don’t throw anything hard at me for my true confession today!  If you MUST throw something at me, throw something soft, cuz I’m soft!  :o)

See you tomorrow!  

2 Responses

  1. NO JOKE, GUYS!! SHE REALLY IS!!!! I, PERSONALLY, HATE CANNED SOUP NOW ‘CAUSE I’VE HAD THE REAL STUFF FOR SO LONG, THE CANNED STUFF IS JUST WRONG!!!!
    BUT I ABSOLUTELY LOVE A GOOD OLE BOLOGNA SANDWICH!!!! OR, IN THE SOUTH, A BOLONIE SAM’ICH! THROW SOME MUSTARD ON THE BOLONIE SIDE & SOME MIRACLE WHIP ON THE CHEESE SIDE & I’M THERE!!!!!!! I EVEN LIKE LETTUCE & TOMATO ON IT. & CORN DOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OUR SIL MAKES THE BEST HOMEMADE ONES YOU’LL EVER FIND! GUESS WHAT THE AB’S & I ARE HAVING WHILE AMY’S GONE!!!

  2. Well, you all who have known me over the years know my stance on pre-packaged, convenience food and fast food….it just doesn’t happen..lol. BUT…I do have a few things that I use and love. Trader Joe’s organic marinara sauce is THE best!! I use it when I don’t have time to make my own. And, in the winter, when I am short on time and can’t make my own soup…I love Healthy Choice Split Pea soup…

Leave a Reply

