Spring is coming! And so is GRILLING!

So let’s talk a little about spring.  I actually wrote this post a couple weeks ago when we had our first weekend of gloriously spring-like-weather.  Yeah, that lasted all of about 5 minutes!  Two days later, it was so wicked cold it’s not even funny!  Then we had that freakish blizzard about 5 MORE minutes later. 

But this week has been absolutely fabulous springy weather!  I’ve been out of town the majority of the week and it has been such beautiful weather!  So I thought it was time to haul out this post!

With spring comes outside weather.  Outside weather means GRILLING and eating on the deck at our house.  I can’t wait!  The oldest ankle biter wanted to eat outside that weekend we had that first little taste of spring, as a matter of fact!  It was just a little too chilly for me to eat outside once the sun started to go down.  But it won’t be long now!

Grilling is a HUGE part of our spring and summer.  What I want to know is what your favorite thing to grill is.  Help me out here!  I love to try new things on the grill.  Last summer, I tried grilling pizza for the first time.  That was amazing! 

We also do the “regular” stuff like burgers and brats and regular hotdogs.  We grill chicken and steaks and pork loins or chops.  We grill shrimp and salmon.  I’ve grilled whole turkey tenderloins that are to die for. 

We grill a lot of veggies too.  I’ve done stuffed portabello mushrooms, squash and zucchini, and eggplant.  I almost always slice up onions, hit them with a dash of pepper and a little Dale’s steak seasoning and microwave them about a minute, then grill.  I could eat those by themselves! 

We love grilled fruit too.  AB2 requests grilled pineapple nearly everytime I ask what they want me to grill.  But we also like to make skewers of pineapple, strawberries, bananas and melons then baste with a mixture of honey, butter and lemon, lime or orange juice.  That is SOOOOO yum! 

One of our favorite grilled foods is a hollowed-out jalapeno pepper, stuffed with a teeny piece of chicken breast that I marinated in adobo sauce, then wrapped in a piece of bacon.  

 Here are a few pictures of some of our grilling…….

Grilled mushrooms

Grilled eggplant slices and mozzarella-stuffed portabello mushroom caps.  TSM loves those things!  I wouldn’t touch them with a 10 ft. pole!  But they sure look purty on the grill!

Grilled peppers

Grilled whole pork tenderloins, chicken-stuffed anaheim peppers (the jalapenos were too tiny!) and fresh pineapple chunks wrapped in bacon.  Lord, have mercy on my wicked soul!  That’s some evil-good stuff right there!

grilled veggies

Grilled squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, red onions and grape tomatoes done on a grill pan.  Oh yeah, baby!  Come to Moma!

 grilled pizza 1

grilled pizza 2

And grilled pizza.  This was homemade pizza dough topped with a teriyaki BBQ sauce, leftover grilled pork loin cut into slices, onions, green bell pepper, pineapple and loads of cheese.  Those little ankle biters quit biting on my ankles for just a brief moment while gnawing on that pizza!

So what do you all like to grill?  Share some of your favorites with me so I’ve got new inspiration for the upcoming grill season!  I can’t wait to fire that bad boy up!  It’s probably going to happen this weekend, in fact!  So give me lots of inspiration!  I’m honnnngry! 

See y’all when I make it back home!

One Response

  1. We love grilled peach halves. I just slice them in half and pull out the pit. When they are done grilling, I sometimes brush on some balsamic vinegar. YUMMMMMMM! Then put them in a bowl with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream. They are so good.

Leave a Reply

