Easter’s Coming!

You know what?  It seems with every holiday meal/large family gathering, that old, tired “Green Bean Casserole” comes out of the woodwork.  Now if you are in love with it, more power to you.  But it just doesn’t crank my tractor.  I’d like to offer you a couple alternatives today to the old canned green bean/mushroom soup/French-fried onion-on-t0p casserole.

The first recipe is a combination of green beans and corn.  It’s one of my most requested dishes here at home, for potlucks, for holidays, because it’s Tuesday, whatever.  I’ve shared this recipe all over the internet over the past few years.  It truly is a favorite! 

White Shoepeg Corn Casserole

*  2 cans white shoepeg corn, drained OR 1 pkg. frozen white shoepeg corn

*  1 can French-style green beans, drained well

*  1 onion, diced

*  1 can cream of celery soup

*  1 cup sour cream

*  1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

*  1 sleeve Ritz crackers, crumbled

*  1 stick butter, melted

Mix corn and green beans together.  If you use canned corn, be sure to drain it very well!  Mix soup and sour cream together.  Add to corn and green beans along with onions and cheese.  Mix well.  In a separate bowl, mix cracker crumbs and butter.  Pour corn mixture into a 3 quart baking dish.  Top with buttered crumbs.  Bake in a preheated 400° oven about 25 minutes or until brown and bubbly. 

We have another favorite that has become my go-to green bean casserole.  This casserole was brought to me from a Sunday School classmate after the birth of Ankle Biter 2.  It’s different than the “traditional” green bean casserole and has a little bite to it.  Traditional green bean casserole is just a little too plain for me.  I tweaked the original recipe from the gal who brought me this and now it’s what I call:

Supreme Green Bean Casserole

*  3 cans French-style green beans, drained very well

*  1 onion, diced

*  1 small can sliced water chestnuts

*  1 small pkg. slivered almonds

*  1 can cream of mushroom soup

*  3-6 drops Tabasco sauce

*  8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese

Mix all ingredients together and pour into a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish.  Bake in a preheated 350° oven 25 minutes.  Top with additional cheese if desired.  And you could still add the French-fried onions to the top if you really wanted that flavor.  In fact, I think I’ll do just that the next time I make it cuz I LOVE those little onions!

I like the crunchiness of the almonds and water chestnuts in this casserole.  And I love the bite the Tabasco gives it. 

I hope you enjoy these alternatives to the traditional green bean casserole.  Maybe they’ll make an appearance on your Easter table……or your Tuesday night dinner!  See you tomorrow!

2 Responses

  1. The Shoepeg Corn Casserole has become one of our favorites! Thanks for a great recipe, Amy!

  2. The Shoepeg Corn Casserole is now one of my most requested holiday side dishes. It is so yummy!!

Leave a Reply

