• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Happy Easter! Now Let’s EAT!

It’s getting closer now!  Just a couple days away!  Do you have your menu planned?  Ummmmmm, cuz I don’t yet.  By this time, I usually have it long-since planned, the grocery list made and typed up and a few things already on go in the kitchen.  But I am woefully behind this year!  I have got nothing planned yet.  I haven’t even gotten any comments from the family as to what they want this year:  Traditional or Non-Traditional.  It’s going to be awfully hard to eat if it ain’t planned, huh?  Note to self:  Plan Easter dinner TODAY!

Moving right along…….So we’ve been doing some side dishes this week in anticipation of Easter.  I’ve already shared a few of my favorites and some alternatives to the same old-same old. 

Today, I thought I’d do a couple casseroles that I love.  I’m going to just come right out and admit it.  I’m a casserole JUNKIE, man!  I love ’em!  You slap it in a casserole dish and I’m SOOOOOOO THERE!  Whatever “it” might be!  Well, unless it’s fungus or eggplant or something equally nasty like that.  Then I’m not there.

The point is, casseroles are GOOOOOOOOOOOD!  I love them!  And I want to share a few that have become favorites of my family over the years.  I’ve shared some fairly “common” casseroles with you already or some new takes on “common” casseroles.  So I thought I’d give you something new and different today!

Lots of years ago, in the dark ages before the internet, I was forced to find recipes in those old-timey things called books and magazines!  ***GASP***  Oh, the horror of not having every single recipe in the whole entire world at my very keystroke!  I still have nightmares about those neanderthal days!  But I digress!

This first recipe today is one I found eons ago in a magazine or some cookbook somewhere.  I don’t have a clue where I found it, in all honesty.  So if you’re out there reading and this is *your* recipe, by all means, step up and claim it.  In the meantime, I’ve been making it for about 15 years.  It’s got broccoli.  It’s got carrots and cauliflower.  It’s got pimientos.  It’s got a yummy Swiss cheesy sauce to swim in and crunchy French-fried onions on top.  How in the world could it not be fabulous?!  It’s called Swiss Vegetable Medley and here it is:

Swiss Vegetable Medley

*  1 bag frozen broccoli, cauliflower and carrot blend

*  1 onion, diced

*  1 can cream of chicken soup

*  1 cup shredded Swiss cheese, divided

*  1/3 cup sour cream

*  4 oz. pimientos

*  1 small can French-fried onions

Preheat oven to 350°.  Combine vegetables with soup, sour cream, pimientos,  1/2 cup Swiss cheese and 1/2 the can of French-fried onions.  Mix well.  Pour into a 3 quart baking dish sprayed liberally with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake 30 minutes or until vegetables are desired tenderness.  Sprinkle remaining cheese and French-fried onions across top of casserole in a diagonal pattern.  Return to oven and bake 5 additional minutes to melt cheese and toast onions.  

And that’s Swiss Vegetable Medley!  It’s SO incredibly easy!  And your family or your guests or your whoever will think you slaved over this one!  It goes especially well with chicken dishes!  So you don’t have to wait until Easter or Thanksgiving or some other holiday to make it!  Go ahead!  Try it!  You’ll love it!  I guarantee it!

Now let’s talk about Squash Casserole.  Before I tried this particular Squash Casserole, I just didn’t care much for any I’d tried before.  I had never had one before where the squash wasn’t boiled first.  And I’ve got to tell you, boiled squash heebs me.  The smell is vile.  The texture…….EWWWWWWW!  So I just wasn’t a fan.  And the first time I was presented with this casserole, I almost didn’t try it because I was so prejudiced against Squash Casserole.  So I say all that because if you’re like I was and you’re not a fan of typical squash casseroles, give this one a go!  Just once!  Because it is totally different than the ones you’re used to!

Squash Casserole

*  1 cup parmesan cheese

*  1 onion, diced

*  1 stick butter, melted

*  2-3 cloves fresh garlic

*  1 tsp. dried oregano or 1 Tbsp. fresh oregano

*  1/4 cup Bisquick

*  3-4 small yellow crookneck squash, sliced thin

*  1 sleeve Ritz crackers, crushed

*  1 additional stick butter, melted

Mix all ingredients except crackers and second stick of butter.  I highly recommend grating your own parmesan cheese from a chunk.  But it’s not absolutely necessary.  Make sure squash is coated well with mixture.  Pour mixture in a baking dish sprayed liberally with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake 30 minutes in a preheated 350° oven.  Remove from oven.  Mix cracker crumbs with the additional stick of butter.  Sprinkle on top of casserole and return to oven for 10-15 minutes or until crumbs are browned.

And there’s your new twist on Squash Casserole.  I LOVE Italian food and this has an Italian flare with the garlic, oregano and parmesan cheese!  The flavor just pops!  And the squash remains just slightly firm and not mushy like those casseroles that call for the squash to be boiled before going into the dish.

Alright!  We’re about to Easter!  Now you guys better start sharing your ideas with me since I’m behind the ball here!  OK, see you tomorrow!   I’ll try to have a menu for you as to what’s going to be on MY Easter table!  Cuz right now, it just ain’t lookin’ promisin’!  LOL

One Response

  1. Both of these casseroles sound yummy! Does the squash still have some crunch to it? What desserts will you be making Amy? I mean,that is the most important part of the meal, don’t ya think! LOL

Leave a Reply

