• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Monday Q & A: April 7, 2008

Well, it’s Monday again, so let’s dish the questions from this past week.

Marlene wanted to know if I have a favorite flour.  Marlene, you’re just not going to believe this, but the best dang flour I’ve found is from Save-A-Lot.  I’ve tried all kinds of flour, as you can well imagine.  But I bought a bag of their cheap-o, non-name brand flour around the holidays.  The muffins I made with that self-rising flour rose up higher than any muffins I’ve ever made before.  So I highly recommend it. 

Marlene also wanted to know if my cousins bake my Aunt Jane’s cakes.  You know, I have no idea if they do or not.  But whether they do or not, I sure do!  I guess my favorite cake Aunt Jane made was her carrot cake or maybe her pound cake.  But I never had one of her cakes that I didn’t love.  So it’s really hard to pick just one!  She was a phenomenal baker! 

And that’s pretty much all of last week’s Q’s!  So let’s move on, shall we?

I.NEED.HOME.COOKING!  Everytime I travel for work, I come home absolutely starving!  So one of my first orders of business once I got home was to start making a menu for the week.

Ankle Biter 1 requested pork chops.  He didn’t say how he wanted them.  So I decided to do panko-crusted ones.  Ankle Biter 2 asked for spaghetti…..AGAIN!  His Aunt Dee just made it for him Saturday evening for dinner because he whined so much wanting it.  And I bought a couple groovy tequila-lime marinated turkey breast tenderloins at Sam’s, so those are on the menu too.  Tall Skinny Man didn’t make any requests, so I guess he goes hungry this week!  LOL

So here’s what’s cookin’ at my house, good lookin’:

*  Panko-Crusted Pork Chops

*  Steamed Sugar Snap Peas with fresh ginger

*  Apple, Pear and Cranberry Compote

*  Stuffing

*  Napa Cabbage Salad

 

*  Grilled Tequila Lime Turkey Breast Tenderloin

*  RoTel Potatoes

*  Southwestern Layered Salad

 

*  Spaghetti

*  Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

*  Green Beans

*  Fried Okra

*  Cornbread Sticks

Yes, I know that’s only three meals, but the spaghetti will feed us two meals.  So no need to plan another night’s menu when we can do leftovers one night.  And with baseball practice in full-swing, we have to have a couple nights of quicky-quick dinners in order to be there by 5:45.  So spaghetti and leftover spaghetti will be just the ticket this week. 

So what’s on the menu at your houses this week? 

 

2 Responses

  1. No idea what’s on the menu this week . I just fly by the seat of my pants, whatever sounds good that day/evening, is what we’ll have. Do you think you SIL would share her recipe for her Napa CabbageSalad? I would love to try it! I’m glad you made it back home, safe and sound!

  2. Is there a recipe for the Ro-tel potatoes??? They sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

