• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

What’s That Saying?

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions…….yeah, well, I had good intentions for making real meals this week.  Sure did………

Turns out we had to go different directions yesterday evening.  The oldest ankle biter had to go to the orthodontist so I ran in, boiled the spaghetti and tossed it with the sauce I made on Sunday afternoon.  I left that on the stove and then headed out.  The youngest ankle biter had baseball practice.  So the minute we walked back in the door from the orthodontist, I reheated the spaghetti and we  scarfed it down so fast it would make your head spin.  Just spaghetti.  Only spaghetti……nothing else.  Not even a piece of bread.  ***sigh*** 

So I had intentions of making the pork chops today.  Well, 12 roadblocks laters, it’s looking like we’re going to be re-running spaghetti tonight for dinner.  Just spaghetti…….only spaghetti……nothing else because the local grocery store that had pork loins on sale couldn’t be bothered to order enough pork loins to accomodate customers hoping to avail themselves of the sale price.  Empty case, you see.  So first of all, I have no pork chops.  I’d have to make yet ANOTHER run to the grocery store to even get them.  Then there’s the thing with me having to work out of town again today.  So I won’t get home in time to go buy a loin, cut it into chops and finally get it panko’d in time to eat dinner at a reasonable hour.  Moving right aloing, we have the fact that the youngest ankle biter’s coach decided they were going scrimmage with another team this afternoon from 4-6.  And finally, that I have a class reunion meeting starting at 7.  So there you go.  No pork chops for us tonight.  We’ll be lucky if we have 2 seconds to choke down some more spaghetti!  ACK!

 Along with those good intentions to make pork chops, I was planning to make a knock-off (read:  healthier version) of my SIL’s fabulous Napa Cabbage Salad.  Here’s the thing about it……it’s one of my favorite things in the whole world.  But it has like 8,432 calories per bite or something close to that anyway.  So I attempted to make it a bit healthier……….and that’s what we were going to have with our pork chops tonight.  And what we WILL have with them if I ever get to make them.

So since I’M not going to get to have it, I thought y’all might.  So I’m going to share both versions with you today and you can choose whether you want the 8, 432 calorie-per-bite version (which really IS the best!!!!) or my healthier version, which is good, but it ain’t Aunt Dee’s! 

Aunt Dee’s Napa Cabbage Salad

*  1 head Napa cabbage, chopped into thick shreds

*  1 bunch green onions, sliced

*  2 pkg. Ramen noodles, crushed

*  2 1/4 oz. slivered almonds

*  2 Tbsp. sesame seeds

*  2/3 stick butter

*  1/2 cup white vinegar

*  3/4 cup vegetable or canola oil

*  1 Tbsp. soy sauce

Mix cabbage and green onions together in a bowl.  Set aside.  Melt butter in a skillet.  Toast Ramen noodles, almonds and sesame seeds in the butter.  Set aside until cool.  Mix oil, vinegar and soy sauce in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil.  Set aside until cool.  Combine all ingredients right before serving.  Eat the whole lot of it by yourself and stab anybody coming near your bowl with your fork!  Hard!  So they don’t try to come back!  Trust me!

Now, here’s the Amy-ized version:

*  1 head Napa cabbage, chopped into thick shreds

*  2 bunched green onions, sliced

*  1 English cucumber, sliced

*  2 Tbsp. sesame seeds

*  2 Tbsp. slivered almonds

*  Newman’s Own Light Asian Dressing

Toss all ingredients together except dressing.  Add as much or as little dressing as you like.  It’s a low-cal, low-fat dressing and it’s WONDERFUL!  This salad turns out great.  But it just doesn’t have all the crunch of Aunt Dee’s, which is what I really love about hers.  But hey, if you’re trying to behave and mind your Weight Watchers points, this one works out nicely because it has so few almonds that point-wise, they’re negligible.  So the only points you’d have to count is the dressing and again, depending on how much you use for the entire salad, that might even be negligible too.

Well, y’all go have some salad today and think about me!  Cuz I’ll be eating spaghetti, only spaghetti, just spaghetti and nothing else, so help me, God.  But that doesn’t mean you all can’t eat for me!  :o)  Enjoy something for me, would ya?  And I hope you enjoy these salads.  If you’re afraid of a few calories, by all means, please, please, PLEASE try Aunt Dee’s Napa Cabbage Salad.  But again, just a reminder, the rest of the world will want your bowl so go far, far away until you’re finished so you don’t have to share. 

See y’all tomorrow!

5 Responses

  1. Just spaghetti two nights in row!!!!!!!!!! Your poor Family is gonna starve! LOL

  2. WOW! This is like, some kind of unreal happening going on here! Just spaghetti, nothing else, but spaghetti, not even a piece of bread with the spaghetti! LOL Hey Amy! Thaks so much for posting the recipe for the Napa Cabbage Salad. Mom just made a Vegetable Salad tonight, the one with veg-all, celery, red onion, and the dressing was 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup oil, and 1 cup of vinegar…so, yeah, I would guess it has like 8,432 calories too! (We cut back on the oil, she said it was suppose to be 1 cup as well, so we probably saved another 8,432 calories, just by doing that! That is our “light” version of this salad) LOL

  3. at least it is GOOD spaghetti!

  4. Hey Amy,

    I’m sure everyone’s told you this but I make a recipe similar to that and I don’t cook the raman-just add them in plain. Now, I know they still aren’t the healthiest but you don’t have to fry them. Just an idea!

  5. Hi Amy,
    Okay, my post here isn’t really related to this entry in particular. I just wanted to say how awesome your recipes are. I really like seeing what you have going on in your blog and ocasionally I get to sample some of your things when your husband brings things to work. You have inspired me to make a trip to Whole Foods and I thank you for that. What an incredible place. I sometimes make your recipes and have had great results whenever I have tried them (the creamy cucumber dill is awesome!) Thanks for sharing with everyone.

Leave a Reply

