Pepper Steak and Rice

Merciful Lord, I love me some Pepper Steak!  I used to make it all the time, but just sorta quit I guess.  I hadn’t made it in what seemed like forever.  But I decided that was going to be our Sunday night dinner over the weekend.  OH MY, was it ever good!

I fully inteded to take pictures as I went along making it and then post the whole process here.  But I got started and forgot to do any picture-taking along the way.  WHOOPS!  So no photos this time. 

First, you have to understand that I absolutely adore peppers and onions!  I could eat them every meal and LOTS of them!  So to me, Pepper Steak is more about the peppers than the steak.  I love the flavor they impart to the whole dish.  It makes me downright giddy!

Want to make some Pepper Steak and Rice?  Let’s cook, shall we?

Pepper Steak & Rice

*  1-2 pounds sirloin tip steak, cut into thin strips

*  1 1/2 large sweet onions, cut into slivers

*  2 green bell peppers, cut into slivers

*  1 red bell pepper, cut into slivers

*  2″ fresh ginger, grated

*  4-6 cloves garlic, minced

*  1/2 cup soy sauce

*  1/4 cup olive oil

*  1/4-1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

*  1 Tbsp. cornstarch

Mix soy sauce, oil, fresh ginger, garlic and red pepper flakes in a mixing cup.  Pour over meat and marinate at least 30 minutes, but longer is better.  When ready to cook, heat a little more olive oil in a wok or non-stick skillet.  Add meat to VERY hot pan.  Stir-fry until meat is nearly done.  If any juice renders out, drain that off completely before adding peppers and onions to pan.  Reserve juice.  Cook until peppers and onions are crisp tender.  Mix cornstarch with a couple tablespoons COLD water then add to reserved juice.  Return all to the pan and allow to thicken.  If additional water is needed, add a few tablespoons at a time until sauce is desired thickness.

Rice

*  Brown Rice

*  1″ fresh grated ginger

*  2 cloves garlic, minced

*  3-4 green onions, sliced, including green tops

*  1/4 cup soy sauce

*  salt to taste

Cook brown rice according to package directions with ginger and garlic in the cooking liquid.  When rice is cooked, add soy sauce and green onion slices.  Taste before salting because the soy sauce is EXTREMELY salty! 

Serve the hot steak and peppers over rice.  ENJOY!

This is one of the meals I remember my Moma making and gorging myself on it!  Hers was SOOOOOOO good!  She didn’t know about fresh ginger back then.  Shoot, I didn’t know about it until the last few years.  I’d never seen it or bought it until probably 4 years ago.  But it’s essential in making the pepper steak taste just right!

I hope you and your family enjoy this dish.  It could easily be made into a Beef Stir-Fry by adding all your favorite stir-fry veggies into the pan.  I made stir-fried veggies to go alongside it this weekend.  But it would be just as good with broccoli, carrots, snow peas, mushrooms, water chestnuts, baby corn, etc. dumped right in!

Now go cook something fabu-licious for your family!  And report back to me what you made!  I may need to make it too!

One Response

  1. Amy, I’m sure this is a wonderful recipe! How could it be bad with all the peppers and onions. I’m like you, I love the peppers and onion, they just have so much flavor! And, me…I have no idea what I might be having for dinner this evening. Maybe cheese enchiladas.

Leave a Reply

