• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

In Honor and Memory

Today is a gloomy, foul little rainy day here in Tennessee.  And it fits my mood, frankly.  Thirty-eight years ago today was a glorious day.  I was about 6 months old at the time.  So I had no idea at the time that it was a glorious day.  I wouldn’t know about it until I was an adult.

I’ve mentioned the former Moms Online forum here numerous times.  And I’ve mentioned that the site brought me many amazing friends.  I discovered Moms Online around Thanksgiving 1997.  I was entirely new to the web and scared to death of it because of all the bad things you heard back then about all the freaks and weirdos who were online.  But I discovered this wonderfully safe site for Moms.  I was still a fairly new mom.  My oldest ankle biter wasn’t yet 2 and a second ankle biter was just barely being considered at that point.  There was a Christian Moms forum within Moms Online.  It was there that I met a number of ladies who have been my rocks through so many of life’s trials over the past 10 years.  It was there I met Evie. 

We all have friends who come and go in our lives.  We all have friends who make different impacts on our lives.  I can’t even begin to explain the kind of impact meeting Evie and then calling her “friend” made on my life!  But I’m going to try.

Evie and I started talking on this Christian Moms board around Thanksgiving that year.  I learned that Evie had grown up here in TN, the daughter of a pastor.  I learned we were fairly close in age.  I learned that we both loved the Lord and loved to sing for His glory.  I learned that we had boy-babies born about the same distance apart that we, ourselves, had been.  I learned she had a daughter whose birthday was the very special day we finally got to bring ankle biter #1 home from the hospital.  We became fast friends.  I didn’t realize at the time just what a gift God had given me in this new friendship.

Evie came to visit me for the first time in July 1998.  She and her ankle-biter boy baby who had just turned 2 came and spent a week with me.  That was such a stretch back then.  People thought I was NUTS to invite someone from the INTERNET to come spend time with my family.  “Don’t you know that all people on the internet are axe-murderers!?!!?”  Well, Evie wasn’t an axe-murderer at all.  Far from it!

I was very newly pregnant with ankle-biter #2 that summer.  We spent a fabulous week just doing “chick” stuff all week long.  And we talked and talked and talked til all hours of the day and night! 

That weeklong visit was just the first of many over the years.  It’s hard to believe people can bond “from the wrist down” via the computer.  But we did and our friendship grew over the years to become a beautiful sisterhood.  Neither Evie or I had a sister.  We both had brothers named David.  Wonderful brothers, but no sisters for either of us.  We became sisters of the heart.

Shortly after my second ankle-biter was born, Evie found out she was pregnant with baby #4.  It was a surprise baby for her.  A miracle baby, it turned out.  Baby R was born just shortly before my AB2’s 1st birthday.  When Evie went back for her 6 week check-up after Baby R was born, they told her she had cancer.  She fought and won that battle with the evil disease.  Had Baby R not come along, she might not have ever known she had cancer in time to conquer it then. 

In October 2006, Evie called me.  She was calm when she called.  Evie wasn’t calm.  She was vibrant and energetic.  Calm meant something was wrong.  She asked me to pray because she’d discovered a lump in her lower abdomen.  Out of nowhere……….

An ultrasound said it was the cancer back after 7 years.  Evie had begged me for years to come out and visit her in her beloved Colorado, but circumstances had never allowed.  I hung up the phone and started making plans to fly to Colorado as soon as I could.  I spent a glorious few days at Evie’s house, seeing her amazingly gorgeous Colorado.  Those days will eternally be counted as some of the most wonderful I’ve ever had.  We made memories on that trip…..beautiful, amazing memories!

Evie went into surgery a couple weeks before Thanksgiving.  The cancer was not just back.  It was back with a vengeance.  She had told me before I left Colorado that God had already given her a peace about the cancer.  She said she knew she wouldn’t make it through it this time, but God had given her sweet peace.  We stood in her church on Sunday before I left and sang “It Is Well With My Soul.”  It was absolutely well with Evie’s soul.  But it wasn’t with mine.

Evie battled that cancer.  She fought it with everything she had in her tiny little body.  She fought with the spirit of a warrior!  She was determined, driven even. 

So what does all this have to do with today?  Well, 38 years ago today, Almighty God, in His infinite wisdom, gave life to the beautiful Evie.  Hers was a life that He fashioned Himself.  A child He truly created in His own image.  She mirrored His love and mercy and grace to all she met.  Today, Evie should be celebrating her 38th birthday. 

On October 2 last year, Evie’s long battle with cancer was over.  The war was ended, but not lost!  Evie won.  She drew her last breath listening to her precious mom saying, “good job, Evie” and took her next one hearing her beloved Savior say, “well done, my good and faithful servant.”  Evie’s long, horrific battle with cancer was over.

Today, Evie’s celebrating her birthday in Heaven.  Today, she’s celebrating in a place where there’s no such word as “cancer.”  Today, she’s perfect and whole and healthy again!  Today, she will have NO trouble walking through the streets of gold, celebrating with her Savior!  Today, the rest of us who loved her grieve for our own loss and our own inability to celebrate another birthday with her. 

Today, let’s celebrate Evie……………..

 Evie

This is Evie with the Tall Skinny Man.  This is when Evie was still vibrant and energetic.  She’d brought her girls to me to spend a week going through “Amy’s Cooking Camp.”  We never dreamed that in 3 short years, she would be gone.

Happy birthday, Evie!  My life is eternally blessed for having you in it!  My life will never be the same for having known and loved you as my sister!  Keep singing, my friend!  I love you and miss you every single day!  Have an amazing first birthday in Glory! 

In loving memory of Evie……………..

8 Responses

  1. That was a beautiful tribute to a beautiful person.

    Thanks

  2. FOR THOSE THAT DIDN’T KNOW EVIE, I SINCERELY PRAY THAT YOU HAVE SOMEONE IN YOUR LIFE THAT IS AS SPECIAL.
    I HAVE 2 SISTERS & A BROTHER, BY BLOOD, BUT I WAS BLESSED BY GOD TO HAVE AN ADOPTED SISTER IN MY LIFE. THE VERY FIRST TIME WE MET, IT WAS LIKE MEETING MY LONG-LOST TWIN. I PRAY THAT I COULD JUST BE HALF THE PERSON EVIE WAS.

  3. Amy, this is an amazing tribute to your beloved friend.

  4. Amy, What a beautiful tribute, to a beautiful woman of the Lord.

  5. Very, very beautiful, Amy…..

  6. Amy, that was just a beautiful and moving tribute.

  7. I love you honey……and I miss her too……..

  8. Amy, thank you so much for sharing your love with us! I miss her too…

Leave a Reply

