• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Let’s Talk Food Again

Y’all, my sincerest apologies for leaving you high and dry.  I can’t even begin to tell you how busy life has been with work!  It’s been absolutely insane!  Then add baseball on top of that and it seems like I haven’t had a second to even take a deep breath! 

But I’m off this week……the product of all that work lately.  I’m off taking “flex” time because I’ve worked overtime so much lately that I had enough time to take 4 full days off (with a few hours leftover even!!!!)  So I’m home this week, just relaxing!  Ahhhhhhhhh!  Can you hear the relief in me????  It feels good to not have to travel and to think so hard this week!

So now that I’ve got a few minutes, let’s talk about some food again.  I’ve missed that so much! 

Yesterday, I told you a little bit about Evie, my dear, precious sister-friend.  And I told you that the first time we met in person, I was very newly pregnant with Ankle Biter #2.  What I DIDN’T tell you is that I was so exhausted in those first few weeks of pregnancy, what with being pregnant AND chasing around a profoundly ADHD 2.5 year old, that I didn’t feel much like cooking.  So one night while Evie was visiting, I “invented” some potatoes.  I didn’t feel like peeling potatoes, so I seriously doctored some instant potato flakes and made what would become affectionately known as “Springs Smashed Spuds.”

I was almost ashamed to serve them because………POTATO FLAKES!  Come on!  ME?  But Evie had an absolute FIT over them!  She honestly took what was left home on the plane with her!  No joke!  Carried them on the plane, with her carry-on luggage, back to Colorado!  She did that with some home-made chicken and dumplins too! 

Anyway, I have revised those initial “potatoes,” if we can loosely call them potatoes!  LOL  Now that I’m no longer pregnant and no longer chasing around a 2.5 year old profoundly ADHD child, they’re made with REAL potatoes!

In honor of Evie, I thought I would share the “real” Springs Smashed Spuds with you.  The reason they’re called “Springs Smashed Spuds” is because Evie lived in Colorado Springs and “Springs” just fit so well with smashed spuds.  Somehow “Evie’s Evil-icious Eeek-Evoking Excellent Tubers” just didn’t have the same ring to it.  So Springs Smashed Spuds were born!

And here they are:

Springs Smashed Spuds

*  6-10 potatoes, peeled and cubed for boiling

*  3 cloves of garlic, minced

*  1 packet Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix

*  salt and pepper to taste

*  1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley or 1 Tbsp. dried parsley

*  1 stick butter (real butter, not margarine)

*  1 cup sour cream

*  1 can French Fried Onions (you choose which size depending on how much crunch you want)

*  2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

*  8 slices bacon, chopped

*  1 bunch green onions, chopped

Boil potatoes until tender.  Roughly smash them with the butter and sour cream while potatoes are still VERY hot.  Add salt, pepper, ranch dressing mix, garlic and parsley to potatoes.  Stir until well blended.  Generously spray a deep baking bowl with non-stick cooking spray.  Spread half the potato mixture in the bottom.  Top with half the cheese, chopped bacon, green onions and French fried onions.  Add remaining potatoes and top with remaining cheese, bacon, green onions and French fried onions.  Bake in a preheated 350° oven until cheese is melted and potatoes are bubbly.  Dig in!

I hope you enjoy these as much as Evie did.  While she was sick, I flew out to Colorado a few times.  I made them for her every time I went.  She could eat very little, but she always had a little saucer full of these ‘taters.  It blessed my heart beyond measure to be able to feed her even a few bites of “comfort” food. 

Have a great day!  Go hug someone you love and make sure they know how deeply you love them!  Family and cherished friends can’t be replaced.  They need to know how much they are loved!  So don’t let the sun set on this day without telling the folks you love how much they mean to you.  They can be gone in an instant and the opportunity is gone with them.  So with that said, I love you people!  Many of you reading have been with me through thick and thin!  Literally AND figuratively!  I love you from the very bottom of my heart.  Know that!

One Response

  1. Love you, Amy!!! I don’t think I ever knew the history of the Springs Spuds but this makes them even more special!! Your last paragraph REALLY hit home and since you know what I have been dealing with…I am going to go hug Miss Teen USA one more time!!!!!

Leave a Reply

