• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Key Lime Cheesecake

For the love of God and all that is holy, LET’S COOK!  It’s been way too long since we cooked, dangit!  I can’t even begin to tell you how busy work has been lately.  Some mornings I leave at 6:00 and I get home at 7 or 8 that night.  It’s just insane!  I’m so sorry I’ve left you all high and dry.  I’ve missed “fooding” with you everyday.  Because I love nothing better than “fooding,” that’s for sure!

So what prompted this morning’s post out of the clear blue sky?  Well, I invented a new recipe this weekend.  I went off in search of a Key Lime Cheesecake recipe.  And I didn’t find one that really cranked my tractor.  So I did the “same old, same old” New York-Style cheesecake recipe I’ve always done, but with some modifications and additions to turn it into what I wanted it to be.  And I have to tell you, it was one of the most unbelievable flavors I’ve ever tasted!  It was absolutely TO DIE FOR!!!!!!!  IF you like Key Lime that is.  The Tall Skinny Man does not because he’s a freak.  But we won’t go there.

So Key Lime Cheesecake, huh?  What made me create that?  Well, here’s the deal……….there’s 3 little French girlies visiting right now.  Three years ago, we hosted our last exchange student, Sarah, from France.  She’s currently in TN visiting and brought along 2 of her friends, Laura and Johanna.  Laura mentioned how she loves Key Lime Pie AND Cheesecake.  So I started to dream………and invent…….and create.  And VOILA!  There was this Key Lime Cheesecake!  Oh, and don’t worry!  I didn’t just pick out Laura as my favorite or anything!  Sarah got her beloved Caramel “Broonies” and Johanna got a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake because she loves chocolate and had never had cheesecake before.  Oh and Unk got his beloved Honey Bun Cake too.  I was a dessert baking fool yesterday!  But I digress…….

Wanna make it?  You’ll be glad you did!  It’s amazing, if I do say so myself!

Key Lime Cheesecake

*  2.5 cups graham cracker crumbs

*  6 Tbsp. butter, softened

*  1/2 cup sugar

*  1/2 cup macadamia nuts, finely chopped

*  1/2 cup shredded coconut

*  1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

Mix your crust in a food processor so the nuts and coconut will be ground up fairly fine and not leave lumps in the crust.  Line the bottom of a 10″ springform pan with wax paper.  This is so you can get the cheesecake off the bottom of the pan to put on a serving platter without tearing up the bottom of the cheesecake.  Now press the crust onto the bottom and 3/4 of the way up the sides of the pan.  Some folks only want crust on the bottom.  If you do, just do the bottom, but I like it up the sides too.  Bake the crust in a preheated 350° oven 15-18 minutes.  Allow to cool before adding batter.

*  4-8 oz. bars cream cheese, softened to room temperature

*  1 cup sugar

*  1/2 cup Key Lime Juice, NOT regular lime juice

*  lime zest from 3 limes  ***note at the end***

*  5 large eggs

*  5 Tbsp. flour

*  1 cup sour cream

VERY gently mix the cream cheese and sugar until well blended.  Be sure to use your mixer on a low speed.  You don’t want to whip air into this because it’s the air that causes cheesecakes to crack.  Or so they tell me anyway.  Once the cream cheese and sugar are well combined, add the key lime juice and continue mixing until it is well-combined.  Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition to incorporate them into the batter.  Add the flour and mix until just combined.  Add zest and sour cream.  Mix until they are combined. 

Pour batter into cooled crust.  Bake 60 minutes or until the top springs back when touched.  Allow cheesecake to completely cool before releasing spring. 

***NOTE***  Now, about that zest…….zest from key limes is preferable to regular limes.  However, when you live in podunk, folks don’t realize there is a difference between regular limes and key limes.  Key limes are teeny tiny!  I couldn’t find any key limes here in podunk, so I improvised and just used the zest from regular ones for this.  If you have access to key limes, use them for zesting!

And THIS, is what you get:

Key Lime Cheesecake

Now please excuse my photography because it makes the cheesecake look burned on top, but it SOOOOOOOO was NOT!  It was an absolutely gorgeous golden color!  And as you can see, I wasn’t successful in not beating too much air into the batter because mine cracked a bit.  But it was still delightful, cracked top and all!  Oh yeah, and excuse the goofy looking snowflake Christmas platter too.  Yes, I’m aware it’s AUGUST!  But it was the first platter I came to in the cabinet and was in a hurry.  So there ya go!

OK, go forth and make some cheesecake!  Or some brownies or some cake or some something!  Enjoy!  And I’ll *try* to come back with more recipes soon!

One Response

  1. Amy, I want to try this soon! It sounds soooo good! Thank you so much for posting the recipe!

Leave a Reply

