Zucchini Gratin

So I mentioned that there are three little French girls running the hillsides around these parts right now.  I promised them I’d make their favorite veggies for dinner last night.  One’s favorite was potatoes so I made Springs Smashed Spuds for her.  I’ve shared those here with you before.  The other’s favorites were tomatoes and zucchini.  So I did the Oven-Fried Green Tomatoes that I’ve shared with you and I invented a new zucchini dish because…………….well, because I just did. 

I’m not a huge fan of zucchini.  I can eat it.  But I don’t love it.  I don’t ever wake up in the morning and say, “Hooooooooo boy!  I sure got me a hankerin’ for some zukes!”  Nope, not so much.  So I struggled a little bit with figuring out what to make other than just frying it like I would yellow crookneck squash, which she’s already tried while visiting. 

So my little head began to spin and out popped Zucchini Gratin.  I basically made Au Gratin Potatoes, but used zukes instead.

Zucchini Gratin

*  4 zucchini, sliced thin

*  1 large onion, sliced thin

*  2 cups fresh parmesan cheese, grated

*  1.5 cups half and half

*  1 cup flour

*  fresh basil and garlic to taste

*  Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt

Spray a baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.  Layer 1/3 of the zucchini in the bottom of the dish, top with 1/3 the onion slices.  Sprinkle liberally with Jane’s Krazy Salt.  Sprinkle with fresh basil (chiffonade the basil—if you don’t know what that is, lay each leaf on top of each other in a stack.  Roll the leaves into a “log.”  Slice very thin strips off the “log”.  VOILA!  Chiffonade!) and garlic.  Sprinkle with flour and cheese.  Repeat each layer until you get to the top.  If you want a more “firm” dish, add more flour and less half and half.  Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 1 hour or until zucchini is tender.  Top with additional parmesan cheese if desired.  Or top with Italian-flavored Panko crumbs.  Either way would be wonderful.  I honestly didn’t think of the panko when I made this yesterday or I would’ve done that! 

Laura apparently LOVED this dish.  I think I saw her dip back in the dish about 3 times after the first time!  :o)  So I was pretty happy that she was pretty happy about her zukes! 

As a matter of fact, I think everybody rolled away from the table!  :o)  Last night’s menu included Bison Stroganoff with Whole Wheat Egg Noodles, Green Beans (courtesy of my SIL), Springs Smashed Spuds, Maple-Citrus Glazed Baby Carrots, Zucchini Gratin, Oven-Fried Green Tomatoes, Broccoli & Cheese, homemade yeast rolls with Orange Honey Butter and leftover desserts from the night before. 

So there ya go!  Go forth and pick some zukes and fresh basil and go to town!  Personally, I’ve got basil out the wazoo!  It’s growing absolutely buck wild for me this summer!  So I’ve been using it a LOT!

Enjoy!  Have a great day!  And come back and tell me what magnificent thing you made for your loves this week!

One Response

  1. Oh Amy, this sounds really good! I love zukes! We usually cook them with onion and tomatoes. I just fixed yellow crookneck, last week. They were soooo good!

Leave a Reply

