Bacon Carbonara Appetizers

When I was trying to come up with something new and exciting to serve my guests at my Premier show, I came across a recipe online that really tripped my trigger.  It looked so quick and so easy, I decided to give it a try.  And I am so glad I did!  And I’m going to share it with you, but with the tweaking I think it needs to be better than the original. 

It’s a lot like pizza, but with no red sauce.  The original recipe called for store-bought pizza crust as the base.  And I tried it that way the first time.  But I REALLY like my own, homemade pizza crust better.  So let’s start with that, OK?  If you’ve never made your own pizza crust, you just don’t know what you’re missing!  Honestly!  And it’s so flippin’ easy, KIDS can do it if they can measure and turn on a mixer!  And I guess you could do it without a mixer, but I am no fan of that.  So my trusty Kitchen-Aid (#4 for anyone who is counting!) does the work for me. 

Pizza Dough

*  9-11 oz. warm water

*  4 Tbsp. olive oil

*  loads of freshly minced garlic

*  4 cups bread or all purpose flour

*  1 pkg. yeast

Mix until dough forms.  Form into 4-6 small crusts for the Bacon Carbonara recipe.  This dough will also make 2 large size pizza crusts or 1 really HUGE, thick crust pizza.  And if you add some fresh basil or rosemary or whatever herb you like into the dough, it makes a fabulous focaccia too!  But for THIS recipe, make it into 4 thick crusts or 6 super thin crusts depending on how you like your crust.

Y’all know I have a sweet love affair with my Pampered Chef baking stones!  I think crust can NOT be baked on anything but stoneware.  But you’re welcome to bake on whatever you wish……….but I promise your crust will be better if you use a stone!  I like to sprinkle the stone with a teeny bit of cornmeal before putting the crust on the stone.  I like the texture it gives the bottom of the crust.  Place your crusts on the stones and pre-bake them at 350° for about 15 minutes or until they’re completely done.  Allow them to cool before adding the toppings.

Bacon Carbonara Appetizers

*  1 jar Alfredo sauce

*  1 Tbsp. minced garlic

*  8 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese (or pizza cheese)

*  1 pound thick cut bacon, cooked crispy and crumbled

*  1 red onion, sliced very thin

*  freshly grated parmesan cheese

*  fresh parsley, chopped

Mix garlic and mozzarella cheese in with the jarred alfredo sauce.  Spread about 1/4 cup sauce on each cooled crust.  Top with slices of red onion and bacon.  Sprinkle with freshly grated parmesan cheese and parsley.  Return to oven about 15 minutes or until parmesan cheese begins to become golden brown. 

Slice each crust into 6-8 pieces.  Serve warm or room temperature. 

Not the best picture ever because I was taking a picture of the whole tier of food.  But maybe you can get the idea.  They were REALLY good!  Ankle Biter #1 tried hard to eat his weight in them!  And they were SO simple to make! 

I think you could make a number of variations and they’d be wonderful!  Some leftover sliced grilled chicken added to them would be amazing!  Change the sauce from alfredo to BBQ sauce and add the grilled chicken…..YUMMO! 

And there you have Bacon Carbonara Crusts.  Put your own spin on them.  They were very much enjoyed at my house!  I hope they are at yours too!

5 Responses

  1. Oh YUM!! I haven’t had any luck with finding a good jar alfredo sauce. What kind did you use?

  2. Um, yeah….those look and sound amazing. Just probably not on my latest journey. LOL! Well, maybe ONE small bite, if YOU made them for me and I didn’t have to bake them myself. (I’d eat the whole darn thing! LOL!)

  3. Tammy, I’m fairly sure it was Ragu, but I honestly can’t be certain because I made so many that first time out that I used the whole jar.

    Now with that said, I think you could make a GREAT “sauce” with a bar of cream cheese, a little cream, loads of garlic and fresh cracked pepper. I think it would be every bit as good or better than a jarred sauce.

    Kim, you just DO GO, girl! I’m so proud of you for taking this step toward health! I hope you can inspire me to get back on the wagon and STAY on the wagon!

  4. MMM, Amy…I think it would be better with that little homemade sauce. I can’t make it until I have a crowd around or I’ll eat them all, just like Kimmy said!!

  5. THEY WERE FABULOUS!!! At first I could not figure out what you were talking about this bacon carbasomething or other, and then realized that your sweet baby boys were calling it pizza. Connection made!

Leave a Reply

