Lurky Lou……and some Sin

You know what?  We’ve got lurkers among us.  Folks who pop by, read and never leave a comment.  I know they’re there because I see the footprints in my dashboard.  But I also know because folks tell me!  I’ve got one friend in particular ***cough, cough…..Christie***  who is afraid of the internet or something.  LOL  She reads here all the time, but won’t come out of hiding.  So I figured I’d do a little online tribute to Lurky Lou’s who read, but never “participate.”  Y’all come out of hiding, would ya?  I KNOW you’re there, but I’d like other folks to know you’re there!

I figured if I talk about a certain Lurky Lou, she might come out of her shell a little.  So I’m going to talk about Christie and hope this doesn’t come back to bite me in my significant posterior region.  Cuz Christie has been my friend since like Noah got off the boat or at least shortly thereafter anyway and well, she knows where the bodies are buried!  ROFL  Christie and I have been through thick and thin together.  We’ve buried all our parents together.  We’ve traveled together as families.  We’ve shared the good, the bad and the ugly over the years.

The years have separated us geographically, but not otherwise.  Christie is a dear, precious friend.  The kind you call at 2AM when there’s an emergency and they come running.  Always.  Forever.

So enough of all that mushy crap.  The purpose of this here little bloggy post is to try to draw her out of her shell here in Amy-Land.  Christie and I both married young.  Way too young.  WAY WAY WAY too young.  But we were both young and stupid.  Thankfully we both came to our senses later and pursued college and the like.  But we both know we should’ve done that before all that whole marrying up business.  Life would’ve run a lot smoother for us all.  But hey, you can’t put the crap back in the horse, huh? 

So when Christie was early married………um, well, she couldn’t boil water.  No joke!  Bless her heart!  But over the years, she’s come a long way!  She still calls me occasionally with questions like, “what does horseradish look like?”  But you know what?  She’s come a stinkin’ LONG way from not being able to boil some water!  Horseradish and boiling water are pretty far from each other in a culinary sense! 

So recently, when I was planning my Premier jewelry show, I called Christie to share a recipe with me!  Several years ago, she had some kind of party at her house and served this dip that was amazing!  Turns out it was that Sin Dip I mentioned recently. 

Sin Dip was originally Mississippi Sin Dip because it came from some of Christie’s family in MS.  Christie and I talked about making some changes to it to improve on something that was already fabulous.  So that’s exactly what I did!  So I’m going to share with you, MY version of a recipe I originally got from Christie.  And in all honesty, it’s just unspeakably sinful!  Thus, the name!

Sin Dip

*  1 pound Velveeta cheese, cubed

*  16 oz. sour cream

*  2-8 oz. bars cream cheese

*  1 bunch green onions, sliced

*  1 small onion, diced

*  1 small green bell pepper, diced

*  1/2 small red bell pepper, diced

*  1 pound diced ham

*  1/2 pound bacon, cooked and crumbled

*  1 can chopped green chilies

*  1 round Hawaiian bread, hollowed out

Saute’ bell peppers and regular onion in a little oil until crisp-tender.  Mix all ingredients except bread in a microwave-safe bowl.  Heat until all cheese is melted and smooth.  Pour into hollowed out Hawaiian bread loaf and serve hot with chunks of the bread.  Enjoy your sin!  Wallow in it!  And repent later!  AMEN! 

Y’all give it a try!  And give a shout out to Christie!  Maybe she’ll come out and take credit for the original, which didn’t include any bacon or onions or bell peppers.  So thanks for the original, Christie!  Now give this new one a whirl and tell me what you think!  LOVE YOU!  Come home and visit soon!

5 Responses

  1. (OK, I HAD TO ADD MY TWO CENTS!!! AS USUAL!)
    CHRISTIE IS MY LITTLE SISTER, IN OUR HEARTS AT LEAST. WE’VE ALSO BEEN THRU SOME . . . STUFF . . . TOGETHER. **WINK WINK, CJ** SHE NOT ONLY KNOWS WHERE THE BODIES ARE BURIED, SHE DROVE THE GET-A-WAY CAR!!! (SHUT UP, AMY!!!!!)
    SHE IS ONE OF THOSE RARE PEOPLE THAT YOU COME ACROSS IN LIFE THAT IS A DIE-HARD FRIEND. I THANK GOD CONSTANTLY BECAUSE HE PUT HER IN MY LIFE & ALLOWED ME TO SHARE HER WITH MY AMY!
    SO CJ, THE NEXT BIG MOUNDING PLATE OF AMY’S COOKING I EAT IS FOR YOU, BABY!!!! I’LL GROAN IN EUPHORIC (?) MISERY & THINK OF YOU!!!! (& HOW I WAS THE ONE TO EAT IT ALL!!!!! 8P~~~ HAHAHAHA) I LOVE YOU, SIS!!

  2. OH.MY.STINKIN.HEAD.!!!! I think I’m gonna have to STOP coming here for a while. I just get hungry for these inSANELY sinful dishes and that ain’t helpin’ me one little iota! 😉 LOVES YA!! (I was only kiddin’…won’t stop comin’ over….promise! ;))

  3. I lurk via Google Reader. But this post guilted me into popping in and commenting! So, hello!

  4. :::waving::: HEY LAURA! It’s awesome to see you!!!!!

  5. TALL SKINNY MAN: Amy also drove the get away car for another incident… I just printed out the recipe and can not wait to make it this weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

