Happy Birthday, Unk!

Today is my brother’s birthday.  He’s exactly 10 years, 1 month, 1 week and 1 day older than me.  You’d think with the age difference we wouldn’t be all that close, huh?  Nope, not so.  He lives next door and we’re close in more than proximity.  He’s truly the best brother anybody could have!  I truly wish EVERYONE had a brother like him!  He’s that kind of brother!

So he’s turning 49 today.  I can remember being a kid and thinking how much older he was.  I would do that, “when I’m 10, he’ll be 20” and “when I’m 20, he’ll be 30” and “when I’m 30, he’ll be 40!”……….somehow, I just never saw us getting much older than that.  But it just kinda happened!  He’s on the cusp of 50!  For crying out loud!  How’d THAT happen!?!??!  I never, ever saw either of us “this old!”  I know that sounds crazy, but David isn’t *supposed to be* 49!  He’s just my big brother!……..

So in honor of his birthday, I think it’s only fitting that I share his favorite cake recipe.  I have made many ‘a cake in my day.  But to David, there is only 1 cake.  Always.  Ever.  It’s Honeybun Cake.  And it’s by far, the easiest cake to make!  I can whip one out in about 3 minutes! 

Wanna make it? 

Honeybun Cake

*  1 yellow cake mix

*  2/3 cup vegetable oil

*  1/3 cup water

*  4 eggs

*  1 cup sour cream

Mix all ingredients together and set aside. 

Combine:

*  1 cup brown sugar

*  1 Tbsp. cinnamon

*  1 cup pecans (optional)

Spray a 9″x13″ cake pan with non-stick spray.  Add half the cake batter to the pan.  Sprinkle with mixture of sugar, cinnamon and nuts.  Add remaining cake batter and top with remaining sugar mixture.  Swirl cake batter with a knife.  Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 30-35 minutes.  You can also make this in a Bundt pan and bake for 55-60 minutes.

Glaze:

*  2 cups powdered sugar

*  2 Tbsp. milk

*  1 tsp. vanilla extract

Mix together until smooth.  If you like a thinner glaze, add more milk.  If you like it thicker, use less.  No rocket science to this cake!!!! 

Glaze cake while it’s still warm.  Serve warm from the oven or room temperature.

I love to make this cake because it makes folks so happy.  Not just my big lug of a brother, but most everyone who tries it.  I have a former supervisor who thinks this cake is the be all-end all cake too!  And a co-worker who does as well.  It’s just a good cake.  It’s nothing fancy.  Nothing that would win a “purty” contest because with all that brown sugar, it’s GONNA do some sticking!  But it just tastes good!  It’s what I like to call “honest” food.  Nothing pretentious about it.

Happy Birthday, David!  You’re the best brother a little sister could ask for, even if you did hang me with my own jump rope when I was a kid!  LOL  I survived.  It’s all good!  I love you and I’m so glad God chose me to have a big brother like you!  Now let’s eat some cake!

7 Responses

  1. Happy birthday, David!!! Enjoy your honeybun cake! 🙂

  2. Ah, alas, he’s watching his cholestrol. Therefore, there will be no cake this year for his birthday. 😦 Poor dude!

  3. awwwwww……….

  4. Honey Bun Cakes are one of my favorite cakes, as well. YUMMY!

  5. AMY ALSO MAKES THEM IN A STONE BUNDT PAN. THAT’S MY FAVORITE! ‘CUZ AFTER SHE DUMPS THE THING OUT, I’M STANDING AT HER SIDE, LIKE A LOVING HUBBY, TO “WASH” IT FOR HER . . . WITH A SPOON!!!!!!! MAKE IT IN A BUNDT, LADIES! THIS IS A GOOD WAY TO GET YOUR HUBBY IN A GREAT MOOD. THE REASON – BROWN SUGAR & CINNAMON ARE HEAVIER THAN CAKE BATTER (THE WAY GOD INTENDED) & THEY SINK TO THE BOTTOM & STICK A LITTLE BUT COME OUT DELICIOUSLY . . . ER, I MEAN, EASILY!!!!!! MUHAHAHA

  6. hummm….I’ll have to make it in a Bundt Pan the next time I make one…mmmmmmm

  7. HOW CAN HE NOT HAVE CAKE ON HIS BIRTHDAY!!!!!! THAT IS A SIN AGANST ALL CAKE LOVERS LIKE MY SELF!! I AM OFFENDED!!!!! YOU CAN MAKE IT UP TO ME BY MAKING ME A WHITE ON WHITE CAKE FOR MY BIRTHDAY:) (EVIL SMILE) (DECEMBER 28TH!!!!!)

Leave a comment