Creamed Spinach

Thanksgiving is coming!  Thanksgiving is coming!  And I’m always in search of something groovy to add to the buffet line.  So I thought I’d start sharing some side dishes and other Thanksgiving ideas with you!

So let’s make some Creamed Spinach!  What?  You’re not Popeye, you say?  You don’t LIKE spinach?  Yeah, well, I always thought I didn’t either.  It just SOUNDS nasty.  But I’m here to tell you, spinach has gotten a bad rap!  It’s not only good for you, it’s GOOD!  It just needs a little help! 

I started out slow with spinach.  The Tall Skinny Man knew this girl in college who made spinach dip for every college party they ever had.  So after we’d been married a few years, he asked me to make some and I’m all like “EWWWWWWWWW, NO!”  But for love, I made spinach dip and it smelled downright good.  It took me a few times of making it to muster the courage to try it.  And DANG!  It WAS good!  Who knew!? 

So fast forward a few MORE years and low and behold, I decided to try my hand at a HOT spinach dip.  And then the idea was born to make creamed spinach. 

It sounds gross, I admit.  In fact, “Creamed” anything sorta has a funky ring to it, huh?  Creamed peas?  I LOVE peas and that sounds like “EWWWWW” to me!  Anyhoo, don’t be hatin’!  Give this a try!  It’s simple!  It’s fairly quick!  And it’s absolutely delish!

Creamed Spinach
(and if you want to change the name, you won’t hurt my feelings at ALL!)

*  3 boxes frozen spinach (thawed and drained thoroughly)

*  1 bag shredded carrots (because I’m WAY too lazy to peel and shred my own carrots!)

*  1 bar cream cheese

*  1 large onion, diced

*  1 Tbsp. fresh garlic, minced

*  1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

*  salt and pepper to taste

*  1 cup shredded cheese of choice:  cheddar, monterey jack, mozzarella, pepper jack OR Velveeta

*  1/2 cup half-and-half or heavy whipping cream

Mix all together and microwave until cheeses have melted together.  Liberally spray a baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 30 minutes.  Top with additional cheese if desired.

This is an exceptionally forgiving dish.  It’s just not something that can be goofed up.  It’s also something that can become anything you want it to be.  I’ve added chopped bacon to it.  I’ve added sun-dried tomatoes.  I’ve added chopped green chiles, chopped red bell pepper, roasted red peppers, you name it! 

It makes a fabulous side dish alongside a big honkin’ grilled steak.  Or at my house recently, a ginormous grilled pork loin chop.

Give it a try!  I promise it’s not as bad as you’ve always thought!  It’s actually quite tasty!  Break it out for the holidays and get back to me!  And the upside is, you’ll be as strong as Popeye!  Or not.

5 Responses

  1. Hmmm, I have never had creamed spinach with carrots in it. I do love me some creamed spinach…so, I guess I will have to give this recipe a whirl!! 🙂

  2. I love spinach! I have never had it with carrots in it either, will have to try that!

  3. I’m going to try the carrots, too. It sounds good, and Will is in a major love of carrots phase. LOL

  4. OK, ANOTHER BIG “YEERRMM!!!” HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

