• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Apple Cranberry Walnut Stuffing

Y’all know I’m a Southern girl through and through!  And I DO love me some dressin’ at Thanksgiving!  It’s just what’s right!  But a few years ago, I decided to try my hand at “stuffing” because I just wanted to see what it was all about!  I pondered recipes from magazines and the internet……..even the back of boxes.  Then I decided to just “wing it!” 

I figured, hey, it ain’t rocket science, so if we don’t care much for it, I’ll try something different the next time.  Turns out, we LOVED it!  A LOT!  The eldest Ankle Biter has started asking for it on his birthday every year now! 

Let’s make some! 

Apple Cranberry Walnut Stuffing

*  2 boxes dry stuffing mix

*  1 onion, diced small

*  3 ribs celery with leaves, diced

*  2/3 cup chopped walnuts

*  1 cup dried cranberries

*  1 Granny Smith apple, peeled and chopped small

*  2 cups chicken stock

*  1 tsp. rubbed sage

Mix all ingredients together.  If you like stuffing a little more “loose,” add a little more chicken stock.  Pour into a baking dish which has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake uncovered in a pre-heated 350° oven 45 minutes.

This dish is so different from the traditional Thanksgiving fare for us Southern folks!  We’re used to “dressin’.”  Don’t get me wrong, I still LURVE me some “dressin’,” but this is really good for something different to go with your turkey!

This shows up on my table more than just at the holidays!  We like it as a different side dish than potatoes or rice or pasta sometimes.  It goes wonderfull alongside chicken, turkey, pork chops, etc. 

I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

5 Responses

  1. Hey, Amy! That sounds wonderful. Do you have a recipe for “southern dressin'” you use?

  2. Rob made something similar to that last night in his cooking class, but they put it in greased muffin cups and topped it with cheddar cheese. I wanted seconds – and thirds!

  3. Sounds fab…silly Q, but how many cups of dry stuffing mix is in a box? What size bird will this fill up?

    Susan

  4. Hmmmmm, good questions. If I had to guess how much stuffing is in a box, I’d guess about 2.5-3 cups. But that is ONLY a guess! I’ve never thought to measure it…………..

    And I’ve never actually stuffed it into the bird. So I truly have no idea how big a bird it would stuff. I make it in a pan. LOL

    Here’s a nice little secret confession………I’ve only ever had stuffing actually FROM the bird once in my life……my friend Suzanne made it and it was SOOOOOOOOOO good! But I’ve never tried stuffing the bird myself.

  5. I swear it tastes better cooked in the bird…BUT…I too have a confession. I don’t like to tough a raw turkey! I make the stuffing, but leave it up to hubby to do the dirty work! 😉

    Thanks!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

