Cranberry Glazed Carrots

Have I mentioned how much I love the holidays?  Yeah, um, well, I DO!  I think the holidays are God’s way of letting me have something to look forward to after I’ve endured another hateful October.  I’ve always loved them, but after both my parents died, the holidays are really the only things that get me through October each year!  One of the things I do to make the holidays special is cook………that shocks y’all, right?  Knocked you plum out with that startling announcement, didn’t I? 

So I start planning menus weeks in advance.  I search for new and different recipes.  Several years ago, my friend Leigh shared the recipe I’m going to share with you today.  THANKS LEIGH!

The Ankle BIters and Tall Skinny Man ADORE carrots…….just about any way I ever fix them!  Personally, I like them in a roast or roasted by themselves.  This particular dish doesn’t appeal to me at all.  But they LOVE these!  So I thought I’d share them as a possible side dish for YOUR holiday table. 

Cranberry Glazed Carrots

*  1 lb. baby carrots

*  2 Tbsp. butter

*  1/4 cup brown sugar

*  1/4 tsp. nutmeg

*  1/2 cup jellied cranberry sauce

Boil carrots until crisp-tender.  Drain well.  Return to pan and add all remaining ingredients.  Simmer in sauce 20 minutes.  Serve hot.

They make such a pretty dish on your holiday table!  I hope you enjoy them as much as TSM and the Ankle Biters!  Happy Thanksgiving!  It’s getting awfully close now!

One Response

  1. Hi Amy! These sound pretty yummy to me. I like glazed carrots, and I like cranberries. I may have to give these a try!

Leave a Reply

