• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Cranberry Orange Relish

It’s almost here!  It’s almost here!  Thanksgiving that is!  I LOVE Thanksgiving!  Cuz, well, I LOVE food.  I know y’all didn’t know that about me, right?  It’s a shocker!  But pick yourself up off the floor now and let’s talk about another Thanksgiving staple at my house.

Tall Skinny Man LOVES this stuff we’re going to talk about today!  When we were first married, he used to beg me to make it.  Me?  I was raised on cranberry sauce out of a can.  Nobody ever made any such thing as Cranberry Orange Relish to put on OUR Thanksgiving table.  So it was naturally suspect by virtue of not being MY family’s tradition, you know! 

But a few years ago, I caved in and started making it for him.  And now he and my SIL sit and just eat it with a spoon!  Very little usually makes it on the table because they enjoy it so much!  As a matter of fact, last night, while finalizing my Thanksgiving menu, my SIL just kept saying “Cranberry Orange Relish!  Cranberry Orange Relish!”  I think it’s her Thanksgiving mantra! 

The beauty of it is that it’s painfully simple to make!  If you’ve got a food processor, you can whip it up in a matter of seconds!  No joke!

So let’s make some!

Cranberry Orange Relish

*  1 bag fresh cranberries

*  2 whole oranges

*  2 cups sugar

*  1/8 tsp. ground cloves

Wash oranges well.  Pick through bag of cranberries and remove any bruised or damaged ones.  Cut oranges into quarters.  Put them into a food processor, rind and all.  Add cranberries, sugar and cloves.  Whiz until desired consistency.  Chill. 

Now, you can serve it just like this in a pretty crystal dish.  Or you can kick it up a notch!  This part is completely my addition.  After putting in a pretty crystal dish, mix the following and add to the top of the relish:

*  1 bar cream cheese, room temperature

*  1 cup powdered sugar

*  1 Tbsp. orange zest

*  1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Whip cream cheese with sugar and orange zest.  Spread on top of relish.   Sprinkle with nuts.

It’s great plain.  It’s great with this addition.  It’s entirely up to you! 

This is such a fabulous accoutrement to turkey and ham at the holidays!  Enjoy!  I’m off to buy my groceries and GET COOKING!!!!!  YEE HAW!  There’s cooking and eating to be done!  Let’s DO IT!!!!!  Happy Turkey to you!

2 Responses

  1. Oh Amy, I love this Cranberry Relish, it is soooo good! Is the bar of cream cheese a small, 3 ounces one? I hope you and your family have a wonderful day tomorrow! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Hey Marlene! No, it’s the 8 oz. size. I guess it would’ve helped if I’d said that, huh? Sorry ’bout that! DUH! I just didn’t think!

    I hope you and yours have a blessed Thanksgiving as well! Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Much love!

Leave a Reply

