Chocolate Peppermint Sandwich Cookies

Let’s do some more Christmas baking!  I’ve been busy this weekend preparing for a HUGE event at work this week.  I’ve baked and baked and baked for this thing! 

I tried out something sorta new as an experiment.  I took an old cookie recipe and altered it and then kicked it up a notch by making it a sandwich cookie.  It’s like an oreo, but on steroids! 

Several years ago, I bought this little cookie cookbook at Sam’s for little to nothing.  It has THE BEST cookie recipes in it EVER!  I have more than gotten my money’s worth out of that book! 

So I took one of my favorite recipes from that book and made it into these Chocolate Peppermint Sandwich Cookies I want to share with you.

Wanna make some cookies?

Chocolate Peppermint Sandwich Cookies

*  2 sticks butter (room temperature)

*  1/2 cup white sugar

*  3/4 cup brown sugar

*  1/4 cup white Karo syrup

*  1/2 cup cocoa

*  1 egg

*  2 tsp. vanilla

*  2 1/2 cups self-rising flour

Cream butter and sugars together until smooth.  Add Karo syrup and beat again until well combined.  Add egg and beat.  Add dry ingredients and beat until combined.  Add vanilla. 

In order to get a really pretty round cookie, I recommend using a small scoop to drop the dough.  Cover cookie sheets with parchment paper before dropping dough.  Slightly flatten each scoop of dough with the palm of your hand.  Bake in a preheated 350° oven for 9-11 minutes.  Cookies will still be very soft.  Don’t overbake them because they seem so soft.  They will firm up when they cool.

Cool cookies completely.

Peppermint Filling

*  2 sticks butter (room temperature)

*  2 pounds powdered sugar

*  2-3 Tbsp. milk

*  1 cup crushed peppermints, divided

*  2 tsp. peppermint extract

Crush peppermints in food processor.  Crush them as tiny as possible.  I recommend using a soft peppermint for this instead of candy cane-type peppermint.  Cream butter and sugar together.  Add milk gradually until frosting is spreading consistency.  Add extract and 1/2 cup crushed peppermints. 

Spread on the bottom of one cookie and top with another.  Make sure a little frosting squeezes out the edges so the peppermints have something to adhere to.  Roll the edges of each cookie in the remaining crushed peppermints.

And this is what you end up with:

peppermint-cookies-1

 

 

peppermint-cookies-2

And there ya go!  They were fairly simple to make and OHHHHH so pretty!  They look like you put an awful lot of effort into them, but not so much! 

Enjoy!!!!

5 Responses

  1. Hey hun! You always show me all these mouth watering things. And I think how am I suppose to lose weight with that. lol. lol. lol.

    You are truly brilliant!!!!!

  2. ACKKK!!!! I can’t take it! I’m gonna buckle! The pressure is just too much!!! MUST.HAVE.COOKIES!!!!!

    literally wiping the drool from my mouth! Dang! You’re killin’ me girl! I think I’m going to make these and your Chinese Chewies for my cookie exchange in a couple of weeks!

  3. These really look good, and, they are beautiful!

  4. Amy, what would the name of that little cookbook be?

  5. You should really consider publishing a cook book!!! I would buy one for me and everyone I know!!! You could call it “The Lady and Sons” I dont think that name is taken 🙂

Leave a Reply

