Christmas Angels

Howdy friends and neighbors!  My apologies for leaving you high and dry for days on end.  This past week has been the culmination of a HUGE project for me at work.  Once a year (actually twice for us this year because we had one in January too!) we have people come in from all across the state to examine the manner in which we (my state’s Department of Children’s Services) provide services to the children and families in our region.  That’s the best way I know how to describe it in layman’s terms.  When people ask me what I do, I tell them unless they do what I do, they won’t understand what I do.  LOL  It’s called a Quality Service Review or QSR for short.  I am my region’s Quality Service Review Coordinator.  So the past six weeks have been spent planning and then executing this past week’s QSR.  It’s a monumental undertaking to host approximately 40-50 people for an entire week.  So that’s why I’ve been scarce around here.  And again, my apologies for just leaving you with no new recipes.

So without further ado, let’s talk about a new Christmas “goodie!” 

Several years ago, I discovered this little Angel cookie.  It’s so versatile!  The original recipe calls for pecans and chocolate chips.  But for those of you who know me and know me well……….I can’t ever leave “well enough” alone.  It’s just not written in my genetic code anywhere!  Can’t.do.it.  So I’ve played around with this recipe over the years and made it my own.

The ones we’re going to make today are going to be cinnamon and pecan instead of chocolate and pecan.  I’ve done this with white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts.  I’ve also used peanut butter chips and peanuts.  Another favorite is chocolate chips and hazelnuts.  There are so many combinations that would be marvelous to try!

I happen to be a HUGE fan of anything cinnamon!  So I gave it a whirl years ago with cinnamon chips.  If you’ve never seen them before, they look just like chocolate chips, except they’re cinnamon-y.  Every store around here stopped carrying them after I started making them with cinnamon chips so my friend Lisa in Maine shipped me a ginormous box of them to put in the freezer.  I hope YOUR local stores carry them or that you have a Lisa-friend in Maine who can ship you some!   Because they really are amazing with the cinnamon chips!

At any rate, let’s make some!  These are so simple, it’s ridiculous!  Truly, a child could make them! 

Here’s what you’ll need:

angels-1

Christmas Angels

*  1 egg white

*  1 cup chopped pecans

*  1 cup cinnamon chips

*  1 cup powdererd sugar

Pre-heat oven to 350°.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.  This is one instance where I do NOT recommend using a Pampered Chef stone.  These really do best when they’re baked on parchment paper on a regular cookie sheet. 

Beat egg white until frothy like this:

angels-2

Add pecans, powdered sugar and cinnamon chips to frothy egg white:

angels-3

Stir together until well combined:

angels-4

Drop by teaspoonfuls on baking sheet:

angels-7

You’ll end up with close to 3 dozen from one batch. 

Bake them for 11-12 minutes and you’ll end up with these:

angels-6

Yum!!!!!!!  We’ve already eaten one or twelve each this afternoon!  They’re absolutely delightful!  I hope you enjoy them!  Give them your own spin and tell me what combination you come up with!

Merry Christmas!  Now get in that kitchen and make some holiday memories with the folks you love the most!

5 Responses

  1. adding this one to the mix…..what do you think about peppermint chips and pecans…since that’s what’s in the fridge?

  2. OH MY GOSH! I hadn’t thought of peppermint chips! Absolutely! Give that a try and let me know how it turns out! YUM!!!!! ***making mental note: I think I have some of those in the freezer***

  3. Amy, I don’t know if there cafeteria’s in your area, but they use to serve a pie, at one of the cafeteria’s in Wichita, and it almost reminds me of this. I really think it might have been crackers,(or I dreamed this) LOL egg whites, sugar, and pecans. It was very good! Just wondering if these might taste anything like that pie? Cafeteria’s are getting to be a thing of the past though, I believe. There are none in Wichita, or Springfield, Mo. that I know of. But, I don’t get out of town much anymore either. LOL

  4. I’m done baking cookies here, but those look like something yummy to make at Mama’s house when we get there. I’ll check for cinnamon chips before we head out just to be on the safe side.

  5. Marlene, these do remind me of date and soda cracker pie. It’s been a long time since I’ve had one of those. Yum.

Leave a Reply

