Ankle Biter Snack Mix

You know what?  Ankle Biters can cook too!  Well, I guess I use the word “cook” loosely.  Because today’s fare didn’t really involve any cooking on their part.  But the point is, you don’t have to be a grown up to make something delicious! 

For several years now, I’ve been getting each of the Ankle Biters a cookbook for Christmas.  They have absolutely LOVED having their own cookbooks!  They really enjoy getting into the kitchen with their old mom.  But they truly have no idea just how much joy it brings her!  When I’m old and gray, or well, oldER and grayER, I will count the memories we made together in the kitchen among my sweetest and most precious.  There’s honestly very little in this life that I enjoy more than having my boy babies in the kitchen with me cooking alongside me.  It gives me such intense joy!

We make this fairly frequently.  The original recipe came from one of the boys’ cookbooks.  We’ve made it so many times that it changes with our mood everytime we make it.  There’s not a “right” or “wrong” way to do this. 

Now y’all have heard me say “this ain’t rocket science” before.  Well, this is SOOOOOOOOOO not rocket science.  There’s no real recipe.  Toss in whatever YOU like.  We’ll work through making it and then I’ll give you a basic recipe  for you to start with, but then you can make it your own by adding things you and your ankle biters like.

Here’s what you need to get started:

snack-mix-1

Here are the Ankle Biters ready with their HUGE bowl:

snack-mix-2

Ankle Biter #2 starting by pouring in the fishy-shaped cheese crackers:

snack-mix-3

And Ankle Biter #1 adding the fishy-shaped pretzels:

snack-mix-4

Adding the vanilla yogurt-covered cranberries requires teamwork!  It’s a two-man job!

snack-mix-5

Ankle Biter #1 adding the golden raisins:

snack-mix-6a

Ankle Biter #2 adding the honey-roasted peanuts:

snack-mix-7

Adding the chocolate………

snack-mix-8a

Now it’s ready to be stirred up……..

snack-mix-9

Ankle Biter #1 giving it a mix and giggling about it……..

snack-mix-10

All mixed up and ready  to package:

snack-mix-11

Packaging up the goodies:

snack-mix-12a

Ankle Biter #2 with the finished product, ready to share:

snack-mix-13

Ankle Biter Snack Mix

*  1 box golden raisins

*  4 bags fish-shaped crackers

* 2 bags fish-shaped pretzels

*  2 bags Hershey’s candy-coated Kisses

*  2 bags vanilla yogurt-covered dried cranberries

* 1 container honey-roasted peanuts

Dump all into a large bowl and mix until well-combined.  Store in an airtight container. 

We made these to give away in little Christmas goodie bags.  It’s always more fun to make something if you know you’re going to get to share it.  So since we had a “snow” day today……..um, lotsa cold, cold rain, but no actual “inclement weather” for which the Ankle Biters got out of school today……..we decided to make these little tasties to share with friends and family. 

The Ankle Biters hope you enjoy their recipe and that you’ll make it with your own ankle-biting people.  They would also like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

boys-cmas-08

8 Responses

  1. What a pair of cuties!! I think I’ll take them and leave the snacks with you. 🙂 (Of course, you have to take a 2 year old in trade. LOL)

  2. Ummmmm, yeah………not so much! LOL I LOVED “two,” but I wouldn’t go back to the those days for anything. I absolutely love that mine have finally gotten to a stage of independence. If they’re hungry, they can handle that themselves. If they’re dirty, they can handle that themselves. If they have to go to the bathroom, they can handle that themselves.

    I LOVED the baby stage, but I just wouldn’t want to go back and repeat it! Not when mine can now do most everything for themselves! You’ll get there! :o) It’s a GOOD day! LOL

  3. Hey, this looks good! I think we’ll make some, too. Thanks for the “idere”. :O)

  4. LOVE it!!! I’m giving the kids their own cookbooks this year! Thanks to you, for the idea way back when, when you started. 🙂

    LOVE the new camera! 🙂

  5. That looks good! Your ankle biters look a LOT alike. How old are they now?

    Pierson saw the pictures and wants to make the mix. That’s another trip to the grocery store. yay.

  6. Amy, Thanks for the cute, cute Christmas card, by way of email! What a couple of cute guys! The snack mix looks great, too!

  7. Kerri, Ankle Biter #1 will be 13 tomorrow and Ankle Biter #2 will be 10 in about 6 weeks. Hard to believe! This time 13 years ago, I just thought I was going to the doctor for my regularly monthly appointment……little did I know I’d be in the hospital by lunchtime and in an ambulance en route to Vanderbilt by 9 that night! And would be a new mom the next day! Scary stuff!

  8. Oh yum!!!

Leave a Reply

