Ford Hill Chicken And Rice

I was recently craving some beef tips and rice……..um, and as you can see from the title of this entry, BEEF is not what I ended up with.  While I was in the friendly neighborhood Kroger, I noticed they had chicken on sale and being the cheapskate I am, I decided chicken and rice would work nicely thankyouverymuch.  So no beef tips this time.  I’ll save that one for another day!

While I was standing there at the meat case, I began pondering what I was going to do with this chicken once I had it home to make it satisfy my craving.  And I began to formulate a recipe in my head.

I came up with what I’m calling Ford Hill Chicken and Rice………so named for this little hill I call home.  It mostly just kind of morphed from various other recipes I had floating around in my head.  I always have various recipes floating around and formulating in my head. 

And it turned into a pretty doggone good meal, if I do say so myself!  Now let me give a little disclaimer here.  I have photos of the process.  The problem is, they were taken with my new camera before I had a good operational understanding of it.  Flash not functioning and such……….yeah, I’m not much for reading instructions manuals.  I’m more a trial and error kind of gal.  And unfortunately for you all, these photos are more error than anything.  But they ARE photos!  So just bear with me!

Y’all forgive me for not making a “This is what you’ll need” photo!  I was in such a tizzy over having a new camera that I just didn’t think to do it before I started using everything up.  I remembered part of the way through and made some partial “this is what you’ll need” photos.

So let’s just dive right in, shall we?

Start by cutting up 1 1/2-2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breasts:

fh-chicken-2

Cut it into bite-sized pieces. 

fh-chicken-3

Once you get the chicken cut up, you’ll need a bowl, some flour, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt and the “chicken seasoning” of your choice.  I really like this grinder blend I found at Sam’s.  It’s fairly inexpensive and packed with HUGE flavor!

fh-chicken-4

Put the cubed chicken into the bowl with the flour and seasonings.  Toss the chicken around in the flour to evenly coat it.

fh-chicken-5

Heat oil in a deep skillet or Dutch oven.

fh-chicken-6

Stir-fry the chicken in the oil.

fh-chicken-7

While the chicken is cooking, assemble these other ingredients you’ll need.

fh-chicken-1

Then slice up some bell peppers and onions too.  Make sure to use a different cutting board and knife than you used to cut up the chicken!   You don’t want to make anybody sick!

fh-chicken-8

Add the onions, bell peppers and some minced garlic to the chicken.  Stir into the chicken until well-combined.

fh-chicken-9

Add the jar of pimientos and the packet of  Golden Onion soup mix.

fh-chicken-10

Now add the gravy. 

fh-chicken-11

Stir in sour cream.

fh-chicken-12

Add some fresh cracked pepper.

fh-chicken-151

Just before serving, add chopped fresh parsley.

fh-chicken-14

Please excuse my poor photography…….But I served this with some of Aunt Dee’s fabulous Napa Cabbage Salad on the side.  Unfortunately, due to my not-so-great photography, this doesn’t look all that appealing!  But I promise, this meal got some of the biggest raves I’ve had in a long time!  Unk went absolutely WILD over this chicken! 

Ford Hill Chicken & Rice

*  1 1/1-2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed into bite-sized pieces

*  1 large onion, sliced into slivers

*  1 large green bell pepper, sliced into slivers

*  2 cans chicken gravy

*  1 packet Golden Onion soup mix

*  1 small jar pimientos

*  1 cup sour cream

*  1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped

*  1 1/2 tsp. fresh cracked pepper

*  1 cup flour

*  1 Tbsp. Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt

*  1 Tbsp. chicken seasoning

*  1 Tbsp. minced garlic

*  1 cup canola oil

Cut chicken into bite-sized pieces.  Place in bowl with flour, mixed up salt and chicken seasoning.  Toss well to coat chicken.  Heat oil over medium-high heat in a deep skillet or Dutch oven.  Add chicken to pan and stir-fry until done.  While chicken is cooking, cut up pepper and onion.  Once chicken is cooked through (approximately 15 minutes, depending on the size of the chunks) add pepper and onion along with garlic to the pan.  Stir well.  Add pimientos and onion soup mix.  Stir in gravy.  Add sour cream and stir until well-combined.  Simmer 15 minutes.  Add fresh parsley just before serving.  Serve over rice of your choice.

This is truly one of the best meals we’ve had in a while because it wasn’t the “same old-same old!”  It was a little different than our “normal” fare around here.  Even Ankle Biter #2 who is my “picky” eater enjoyed it!  Mind you, he’s picky compared to his older brother and the rest of us, but not picky compared to your typical kid.  At any rate, this ended up being a wonderful meal!

Some suggestions for good side dishes to this would be oven-roasted carrots, good old Southern-style green beans or sauteed green beans, or most any kind of salad.  However you decide to serve it, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Happy New Year to you and yours!

One Response

  1. yummO!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

