• Categories

  • Recent Comments

    gemini232006 on Amazing Pumpkin Cookies
    Belk on Focaccia Bread
    Leanne on Mayonnaise Muffins
    bangkok seo on Focaccia Bread
    Tracy on Sausage Hashbrown Casserole
  • Top Posts

Bourbon Chicken

Alright, now, all you good Christian teetotalers don’t come unglued on me!  I’m not going to corrupt you with that evil  “sauce!”  Bourbon Chicken is so named for Bourbon Street in New Orleans, not for the liquor.  You’ll probably find some recipes out there that DO use actual liquor in the sauce.  But mine doesn’t.  So y’all don’t be condemning and hatin’ on me now!

Those of you who have been around here with me for a while know about a little place I used to hang out online called “Moms Online.”  Unfortunately, Moms Online has been defunct for several years now.  ***a moment of silence please***  It was a wonderful place for moms (and some dads and some non-moms/parents altogether) to gather and chat about a little bit of everything from baby names to crockpot cooking to spilling their true confessions.  It was a lot like a family, really. 

Out of that family was born lots of magnificent recipes that got passed around between us all.  I truly credit Moms Online and the fabulous family of friends I made there for making me a “try me” cook.  Before I found Moms Online, I was a decent cook.  But I was just a plain ole Southern cook until then.  I cooked what I’d grown up eating.  And that’s pretty much it.  But at Moms Online, folks gathered from across the WORLD!  We had ladies from Australia, England, New Zealand…….and some REALLY exotic foreign lands like New York City and Seattle and Salt Lake City and Washington, DC  and Denver and well, you get the picture!  I was a little ole Southern girl without much culinary experience outside the South.

But Moms Online changed all that for me!  It brought me recipes I’d never heard of, seen or thought of!  One of those was this Bourbon Chicken.  Unfortunately, I can’t recall who orginally shared this recipe, so if you’re out there, step up and take credit!  I’d LOVE to give you credit for such a marvelous dish!

Let’s make some!  Here’s what you’ll need:

bc-1

I had already cut up the chicken before it dawned on me to make the “Here’s what you’ll need picture!”  So obviously, if you’re going to be making Bourbon CHICKEN, it would probably be helpful to have some chicken!  However, I HAVE made this with cubed pork loin and it’s every bit as good!  Just make sure you have some meat or this recipe won’t be anything but a mighty tasty sauce. 

bc-2

Cube the chicken into bite-sized pieces.

bc-3

Cook the chicken in a little oil before adding the sauce ingredients. 

bc-4

Now add all other ingredients except the cornstarch and water.  Simmer 20 minutes.

bc-5

Mix the cornstarch and water together and stir until smooth.  Add to the sauce to thicken.  And here’s what you end up with.  I guarantee you the delightful aroma will just about knock you down! 

Bourbon Chicken

*  2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in bite-sized pieces

*  3 Tbsp. olive or canola oil

*  3 cloves garlic, crushed or minced

*  1-2 tsp. fresh ginger, grated on a fine microplane

*  1/2-1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

*  1/2 cup apple juice

*  1/2 cup brown sugar

*  1/4 cup ketchup

*  2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

*  1/2 cup soy sauce

*  1 Tbsp. cornstarch

*  1/2 cup water

Cube chicken into bite-sized pieces.  Heat oil in a Dutch oven or skillet deep enough to cook chicken and then make sauce.  Once chicken is cooked through, add all ingredients except water and cornstarch.  Simmer 20 minutes.  Mix cornstarch with cold water.  Bring sauce to a boil and then add cornstarch and water.  Cook until sauce is thickened.

I like to serve this over plain white rice.  But it would also be good with fried rice or most any rice blend.  The Tall Skinny Man is quite averse to rice, so I usually make him noodles of some kind.  Add some stir-fried vegetables and you’ve got a complete meal! 

I can’t truly tell you just how flavorful and delicious this is!  You simply have to try it!  The sauce is amazing!  I hope you’ll give it a try!  If you’re like I was back then…….in a cooking rut because you always fix the same old things over and over again, this would make a nice addition to your meal plans! 

Enjoy!  Have a fabulous day!

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this! Bourbon Chicken always reminds me of Chris R. (who I miss like the dickens), because that’s what she made when we were there visiting. I’d say that this recipe makes good memories – and what better reason to cook that to make people fondly think back on the meal?

  2. Absolutely Dee Dee!!!!! I couldn’t agree more! BTW, I e-mailed back and forth with Chris a few times around the holidays. I hadn’t heard from her in ages. She and Ankle Biter #2 share a birthday! :o)

  3. Girlllllll,
    I think we have a new favorite way to eat chicken (and Charlie’s not a big chicken fan!)
    BTW, I went ahead and bought the cornstarch….we don’t need extra fat!)
    Thanks!
    Jackie

  4. Glad you enjoyed it! It’s a favorite here too!

Leave a Reply

