Aunt Jane’s Pea Salad

Today, I’m going to do something I’ve never done before.  I’m going to repeat a recipe.  Here’s why……when I originally shared this recipe with you, I did it just to have a recipe to share that day.  It didn’t have any pictures to go with the recipe then.  I shared this recipe with you last spring when I was in Chattanooga for work. 

I shared this particular recipe with you while I was in Chattanooga because that’s where my Aunt Jane lived.  So naturally, I thought of sharing one of her recipes with you.  My Aunt Jane was amazing!  She was a fabulous aunt and a magnificent cook.  And one of the funniest human beings that ever drew a breath!  She could tell a joke like nobody else I’ve ever heard!  Her specialty was cake.  No doubt, that’s where I get my love for baking!  But while her cakes were awesome, she also had a few other things she made that always rocked my world!  Her pot roast and this Pea Salad that I’m going to share with you today were among my favorites she made. 

I spent so much time at her house when I was a kid.  I LOVED that time!  Those memories are among the best memories I have!   I lived to get to go to Chattanooga and spend time at Aunt Jane’s house!

Now if you’re an English pea-hater, this probably ain’t the recipe for you.  But I am an English pea LOVER!  I LOVE LOVE LOVE them!  I could eat them every day!  I like them fresh, canned, frozen, raw, you name it!  LURVE me some English peas.  So let’s honor Aunt Jane today and make some Pea Salad!

pea-salad-2

Here’s what you’ll need:  frozen English peas, iceberg lettuce, red onion, cheddar cheese, Miracle Whip (NOT mayonnaise!!!!) and bacon (which was already in the skillet when I took this picture!)

pea-salad-1

See???  Bacon!  In the skillet!  Sizzling away.  It couldn’t be bothered to march over to the other ingredients and have its picture taken!  It’s way too elitist for that!  Or something like that anyway.  Let’s blame the bacon for not being in the picture.  I like that a whole lot better than blaming ME!!!  :o)  Yeah, so anyway, cook up the bacon until it’s crispy and then drain it on paper towels before chopping it into small pieces.

pea-salad-31

Next, pour the peas into a large mixing bowl.

pea-salad-4

Add in the diced red onion.  I like it fairly small for this recipe, but if you like bigger chunks, by all means, chop your onion bigger.

pea-salad-5

Now sprinkle in some black pepper and sugar.  I don’t add salt to this recipe personally because I find the saltiness of the cheese and bacon is plenty of salt for me.  But if you don’t have high blood pressure, knock yourself out and add some!

pea-salad-6

Add the Miracle Whip…….now listen to me friends and neighbors……..if you want to completely destroy this amazing salad and defile the good memory of my beloved Aunt Jane, just use that nastiness called mayonnaise in it.  It just doesn’t work!  If you want to change this up and add turkey bacon, that’s cool.  If you want to use Romaine lettuce instead of iceberg, sure, that’ll work.  If you want to use a different cheese, super!  But using mayonnaise instead of Miracle Whip in this will alter the integrity of the dish.  I do NOT recommend using mayonnaise for this.  Once in a blue moon, I will actually use mayonnaise in a dish, but this is NOT one of them!  So please, please, PLEASE…..I implore you……don’t wreck this by using mayonnaise.  </end of rant about mayonnaise>

pea-salad-7

Now add your chopped bacon IF your company has arrived and you’re about ready to set this on the table.  If you’re NOT ready to serve, wait until you are.  You don’t want the bacon to get soggy on you!  That’s just gross!

pea-salad-8

Add the cheese next.

pea-salad-9

And finally, stir in the chopped lettuce.  And my apologies for not taking a picture of it once I had it all stirred together.  😦  I meant to do that, but I had company walking in the back door and it slipped my mind after that!

Aunt Jane’s Pea Salad

*  1 bag frozen English peas, thawed

*  1/2 head lettuce, chopped or torn into small pieces

*  1 pkg. shredded cheddar cheese

*  8 slices bacon, cooked

*  2 Tbsp. sugar

*  1/2 tsp. fresh cracked black pepper

*  1 red onion, diced small

*  3 Tbsp. Miracle Whip

Cook bacon until crispy.  Drain well on paper towels.  Chop bacon into small pieces.  In a mixing bowl, combine peas, onion, pepper, sugar and Miracle Whip.  Cover and refrigerate if you aren’t planning to serve immediately.  Right before serving, add chopped bacon, cheese and lettuce.  Stir until well-combined.  Serve immediately.

Easy PEASY, right?   ***snort, I crack myself up!***  Seriously, it is VERY simple!  And OH, SO delicious!  I made this for our Christmas dinner to serve alongside a spiral-cut ham.  But it’s also good with so many other things!  Aunt Jane always made it for me to go with her fabulous pot roast.  It’s good in the summer with anything off the grill!  It would make a nice accompaniment to meatloaf , fried pork chops, Swiss steak or roasted chicken. 

This would even make a nice “main dish” if you had some leftover turkey breast or ham.  Just chop those up into small pieces and toss them in!  This one is hard to mess up or go wrong……unless of course, you don’t listen to me and add MAYO to it!  :o)  Just speakin’ the truth in love here! 

In all seriousness, it’s a wonderful side dish to add to your line-up!  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  Have a great day!  And if you have an amazing Aunt Jane or Aunt Bertha or Aunt Susie or Aunt Whoever, call her and tell her that you love her with all your heart!  Or someday you’ll wish you still could!

5 Responses

  1. you know how i feel about E peas……….but since my dh and dds love them and dh LOVE Miracle whip…….sigh……..i will try it……….maybe i’ll like them since they aren’t cooked to mushy nothingness……

  2. I love pea salad, but I have never mixed lettuce in with it. I know this would be a great recipe though, as it is real similair to another salad that I love!

  3. ok — uncooked english peas are ok……….in this salad…….

  4. I absolutely love this salad!!! I dont know where I got my recipe, but its easy and great!!

  5. BUT CAN YOU USE MAYO??
    (I COULDN’T RESIST!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

