Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

So tomorrow is that “little” game that causes grown men to act like imbeciles over that pointy-ended prolate spheroid.  Prolate spheroid=”oval-shaped.”  You know……foos-ball…….”Foos-ball da debil!”  Sorry for that movie implant.  Super Bowl…..are y’all with me? 

Ummmmmm, yeah……I’m not so much a fan.  But when you live with 3 people who have testosterone, you sorta just have to adapt.  What I know about football could be written on the head of a pin.  I DO at least know who is playing tomorrow and it AIN’T the Titans so I have even more reason to not give two hoots. 

The glorious thing is that the Super Bowl always means FOOD, FOOD and MORE FOOD!  Now THAT is something I know bupkus about!  We always do appetizer/finger foodie-type foods for the Super Bowl.  I shared several recipes with y’all last year for the Super Bowl.  Not so much this year cuz I’ve been busier than a one-legged man in a butt-kicking contest at work and then there’s that little matter of remodeling which caused havoc in my kitchen. 

So this year, looks like you’re just getting this one.  But it’s a doozy!  It’s, well, sorta chick food.  Cuz I’m a chick.  And a chick that doesn’t care for football but has it flung upon me by the menfolk around here.  So they will just have to endure something that’s not quite their idea of Super Bowl food like buffalo wings and cocktail weenies. 

Tonight, I bring you Roasted Red Pepper Hummus.  Hummus?  What the heck is that?  Hummus is a Middle Eastern spread or dip made with chick peas.  See?  CHICK food!  hehehe  Chick peas are also known as garbanzo beans.  By themselves, I am SOOOOOO not a fan.  I hate them, in fact.  I pick them out of soups if I find them.  ***willy***  But all whizzed up in the food processer with some other goodies and they make an evil, wicked, mean and nasty good dip!   Seriously yummo!  So let’s make some!

Here’s what you’ll need:

hummus-1

Chick peas (0r garbanzo beans), minced garlic, salt, cumin, cayenne pepper, roasted red peppers and tahini.  You’re probably sitting there thinking, “What the devil is tahini?”  Tahini is a paste made from grinding roasted sesame seeds.  It also comes from Middle Eastern influence.  You’ll also need some lemon juice.  But I asked an ankle biter to bring me the lemon juice from the fridge and then got busy doing 87 other things and forgot to ensure he’d brought it before I made the picture.  By the time I realized I needed the lemon juice, I was already elbow-deep in making this so it just didn’t make it into the picture.  Sorry!

hummus-2

First, you need to drain and rinse the chick peas. 

hummus-3

Now drain the roasted red peppers.  You’re certainly welcome to roast your own peppers instead of using the ones from a jar.  But I am FAR too lazy to do that.  Especially considering that I could buy the jar WAY cheaper than just 1 small red pepper. 

hummus-4

Dump the drained chick peas and roasted red peppers into the food processor.

hummus-5

Add the salt and tahini to the food processor.

hummus-6

Next add the garlic. 

 

hummus-7

Ground cumin going in…..

hummus-8

Cayenne pepper for a little kick!

hummus-9

And finally that pesky lemon juice.  After all that, I couldn’t even manage to get a decent picture of the lemon juice.  ACK!  Now whiz the stuffing out of it.  I like it fairly smooth, so I whizzed it for a good while before scraping down the sides and whizzing some more.

hummus-10

Now dump it in a bowl and serve with pita chips or whatever else might strike your fancy.  This is some fabulous stuff here!

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

*  1-15 oz. can chick peas, drained

* 1-4 oz. jar roasted red peppers, drained

*  3 Tbsp. lemon juice

*  1 1/2 Tbsp. tahini

*  1 Tbsp. minced garlic

*  1/2 tsp. ground cumin

*  1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

*  1/4 tsp. salt

Drain and rinse canned chick peas.  Drain roasted red peppers.  Add all ingredients to food processor and process until well-blended and smooth.  Refrigerate.  Serve cold with pita chips, melba toast or your choice of crudite.

I first made this a year or so ago.  I took it to work to share and they literally scraped the bowl clean!  I was afraid nobody would eat it because it was “different.”  And we Southerners have our idea of dip.  Dip=Ro-Tel.  Know what I mean, Vern?  I had to explain Hummus a time or 12 that day.  But I made Hummus lovers out of a buncha folks before it was over! 

So here, on the eve of the Buper Sowl, I hope you will give this a try for your festivities.  If not for tomorrow’s gathering, for one soon!  It’s quick and easy and folks will think you’re a rock star when they eat it!  Enjoy!  And GO TITANS!  ***sigh***  Maybe next year, huh?

7 Responses

  1. Oh, that looks good, Amy!

  2. My dh LOVES regular hummus, so I know he’ll love this! Thanks!
    How “hot” is it? That looks like a lot of cayenne……

    http://jujubes.wordpress.com

  3. Jules, I don’t think it’s hot at all. But you can’t judge from me since I grew up eating jalapenos for breakfast. It’s certainly plenty flavorful without the cayenne if you wanted to just omit it. Or cut it in half, then taste and see how you like it and if you think you can handle the rest or not. Nobody has ever mentioned they thought it was hot when I’ve made it before to take places. But they may have been burning in silence! LOL

  4. They were burning in silence. 🙂
    Or I’m just a wimp, it’s possible. I have made it and am about to present it to dh. I’ll wait and see if he says anything about it being hot.
    Thanks for the recipe.

  5. He likes it. :o)

  6. WOO HOO!!! We have success!!! Glad he liked it, Julie! Hope he’s feeling better! That Tall Skinny Man that lives here has been sicker than a dawg all weekend long. But being the stubborn mule he is, went right on to work this morning.

Leave a Reply

