Alfredo….My Way

alfredo-16

This was originally going to be titled “Fettucini” Alfredo.  But as you can see, I didn’t use fettucini.  I used fusilli pasta.  Cuz we just like it better.  And that’s just how it is.  So I couldn’t call it Fettucini Alfredo.  And somehow “Fusilli Alfredo” just didn’t sound all that good.  So let’s just go with Alfredo!  And you can just pick whatever kind of pasta you and your family like and then it can be Alfredo….YOUR Way!

Let’s talk about this dish a minute……..It’s so simple, it’s completely ridiculous!  So simple, in fact, that you’ll never have to buy that stuff in a jar again!  I started making this several years ago when I was doing “Once a Month Cooking.”  I would spend all weekend cooking about once every month or so and fill up the freezer with meals.  Then each night, all I had to do was pull out an entree and make some sides to go with it while the entree warmed up.  This sauce was perfect for the freezer.  So I would make it in huge batches then freeze it in vacuum-seal bags.  While the pasta was boiling, I’d just drop the vacuum-sealed bag down in the boiling water and it would be warm by the time the pasta was cooked.  Dinner could literally be done in the time it took to boil a pot of water and 8 minutes worth of noodle-boiling!

For some reason, I hadn’t made it in years.  When I finally pulled this one back out of my hat, you would’ve thought I brought out GOLD!  These skinny people around my house went wild over it!  And my SIL thinks I’ve invented the best thing since sliced bread. 

Last weekend was the baby ankle biter’s birthday.  And he asked for this particular dish as his birthday dinner.  That was a change because for the last 4 years or so, he’s asked for Broccoli Soup!  Unfortunately, what he got was a trip to Mickey Dee’s with his Unk and Aunt Dee because I was in the recliner coughing up my lungs.  😦 

But I managed to finally get off my death bed a few days later and made him his meal….what he calls, “you know Moma, that stuff with the noodles and chicken.”  Uh huh.  Which brings me to the chicken part.  I always grill chicken to put on top of this.  It’s certainly tasty by itself.  But with the grilled chicken on top……well, that just puts it over the top!

So let’s make some!  And you can top yours with whatever cranks your tractor!

Here’s what you’ll need:

alfredo-1

Dry Italian Salad Dressing Mix, Cream of Chicken Soup, Garlic and LOTS of it, Cream Cheese, Pasta of choice, Half-and-Half or Heavy Whipping Cream and Fresh Cracked Pepper.

alfredo-2

Start with the cream cheese in a cold pan. 

alfredo-3

Add the soup.

alfredo-4

If you’re ever shy with the garlic, this is NOT the time to be!  Embrace the garlic!  Dump in a BUNCH! 

alfredo-5

Now add the packet of dry Italian salad dressing mix.  I like the “zesty” kind.  Not sure if there’s a bit of difference between it and the regular packet that doesn’t say “zesty,” but somehow “zesty” makes me feel like it will have more flavor.  So that’s what I use.

alfredo-6

Pour in the half-and-half or cream, whichever you prefer. 

alfredo-7

Finally, add the fresh cracked pepper and you’re ready to roll!  Just turn the stove on low.  Let it sit a couple of minutes and then whisk until smooth.

alfredo-8

Like this! 

alfredo-9

Boil some water for your pasta of choice.  I like to always salt my water and add a little oil so the pasta doesn’t stick to itself.  And since this was for Alfredo, I went ahead and dumped in a healthy spoonful of minced garlic to the water too. 

alfredo-10

Once the water is boiling, add the pasta and boil about 7-8 minutes. 

alfredo-11

Drain the pasta well.  You don’t want any residual cooking liquid to water down your thick, hearty Alfredo sauce!

alfredo-12

Pour the drained pasta in a serving dish.

alfredo-13

And now……if you’re feeling especially decadent and you happen to have some on hand and I did……grate some fresh parmigiano reggiano cheese on top.  Or heck, if you just have that Kraft Parmesan dust in a can, add a little of that to your noodles before topping with the sauce. 

alfredo-14

Go ahead and pour that thick sauce all over the pasta.  It’s just waiting to be smothered in something fabulous!

alfredo-15

Nothing left to do but eat! 

Alfredo Sauce

*  1-8 oz. bar cream cheese

*  1 cup half-and-half or heavy whipping cream

*  1 can cream of chicken soup

*  1 packet dry Italian dressing mix

*  minced garlic, to taste

*  fresh cracked pepper, to taste

*  pasta of choice, cooked to al dente and drained well

*  topping of choice:  grilled chicken, grilled shrimp, grilled salmon

Mix cream cheese, cream of chicken soup, half-and-half, dressing mix, garlic and black pepper in a cold pan on the stove.  Turn stove on low.  After about 5 minutes on low, begin to whisk sauce until smooth.  Serve hot over pasta.

And that is Alfredo MY way!  I told you it was simple!  Serve this with a nice salad and some garlic bread and you’re set! 

I hope you and your family enjoy this “stuff with the noodles and chicken” as much as my ankle biting people do!  And since tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, a very happy Valentine’s day to you all!

10 Responses

  1. two questions…what can I use to replace the cream of chicken soup and the salad magic? I think both have MSG….and you know what happens with me with MSG.

  2. Amy,
    What is the best way to get perfect grilled chicken?

  3. look’s GREAT. will have to try it.

  4. Jackie, you could just omit the cream of chicken soup and go with just the cream cheese and half and half. I’ve done that when I didn’t have a can of soup in the cabinet. As for the Italian dressing mix, I can’t think of anything that has that particular spice mix that you could sub. I’m betting Whole Foods would have a “natural” version of a dressing mix though that would be MSG-free.

    Phyllis, I like to marinate the heck out of my chicken. I can’t stand chicken that tastes like “dead bird.” KWIM? So that’s the first tip.

    Second, I like to make sure the grill is super hot and sear the marks on both sides, then I take the chicken off and finish in the oven to avoid it drying out. The chicken comes out juicy everytime that way! Good luck!

    Thanks Ang! Miss ya!

  5. mmmm…this sounds really flavorful!

  6. My favorite. Can’t wait to try it… Thanks

  7. Amy, I tried the Alfredo….My Way, & it taste great! Mine didn’t look as jucie as yours, so think next time I will double the receipe. Also what do you marinate your chicken in?? I grilled my chicken & it was dry. Didn’t see the part about the marinate til after the fact & the cooking in the oven. oh well, next time.
    I also tried Aunt Jane’s pea salad & it was good too.
    Keep those receipes coming girl………
    Janey

  8. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for this great recipe! I am by no means a seasoned chef, but I love alfredo. I came across this and decided to try it! Superb!!!! Tastes great and was super easy to make. My son thought I was a genius!!!! 🙂

  9. AWESOME, Janet! I always love hearing when folks turn out looking like a rock star!

  10. Yummmmm-o! It is not smart to look at all this good food at 9:45pm when your a fat pregnant hungry woman:) You and your cooking rock my face off:)

Leave a Reply

