Jamaican Jerk Chicken Wings

So um, did you miss me?  Sorry to leave you all high and dry!  It’s been beyond wild at work lately!  But thankfully, I think the “wild” is over……or at least for a while anyway!  I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’ve missed cooking and sharing with you these last few weeks!  It’s good to be “home!” 

I’ve been sitting on this recipe for a while.  I actually made these wingies for our Super Bowl party that turned into nothing but a Food Fest (THANK YOU, Charter Communications!)  I also made traditional Buffalo Wings, but I wanted to do something a little different too.  So I started pondering what I could make that might be a little hot and spicy, but sweet too.  And this recipe began to develop in my head.

Since all we could do was sit around and eat that night (THANK YOU AGAIN, Charter!) these got quite a lot of attention!  In fact, they were more popular than the Buffalo Wings! 

Jamaican folks have been “jerking” meat for a long time.  Traditionally, “jerk” is a very hot and spicy dry rub applied to either pork or goat.  Since neither of those beasts have wings, I decided to branch out a little with my jerk.  “My jerk” not to be confused for Tall Skinny Man, mind you.  He doesn’t have wings either.  But I digress.  So I ended up using a package of frozen wings and drummies for this recipe.  You can certainly use fresh if you’re a mind to do all that cutting up of raw chicken.  Me?  Not so much of fan of that process.  Therefore, frozen worked like a charm for me!

In addition to wings, of course, here’s what you’ll need:

jerk-1

Fresh ginger, an orange, crushed red pepper flakes, fresh garlic, soy sauce and any variety of Jamaican Jerk seasoning.  I got my Jerk seasoning from Sam’s.  You could certainly make your own, but why reinvent the wheel if there’s a perfectly good wheel sitting around in the spice cabinet? 

jerk-2

Wingies!  They’re pretty doggone important if you’re going to be making Jamaican Jerk WINGS!  I bought these in the freezer section of Kroger.  They’re already cut up for you!  All you have to do is thaw them.  Once they’re thawed completely, put them in a large mixing bowl.  This was about 3 pounds, give or take a wing or two.

jerk-3

You’ll need about 1 Tbsp. freshly grated ginger, 2 Tbsp. Jamaican Jerk seasoning, the zest from one orange, 1 heaping Tbsp. fresh garlic and as much or as little crushed red pepper flakes as you can take.  Since we all like really hot and spicy, I used a lot.  But it’s better to start out with a little and build than to roast your tongue out of your mouth with too much.  Maybe start with half a tsp. the first time.  If that’s not hot enough, increase by half tsp. the next time. 

jerk-4

Now that you’ve got your seasonings ready, juice the orange over the chicken wings.  I like to use a citrus reamer to get all the juice and some of the pulp out of the orange. 

jerk-5

Add 1/2 cup soy sauce. 

jerk-6

Add the orange zest.  And can I just do a little PSA here?  I LOVE citrus zest!  LOVE IT!  The flavor it imparts is just unbelievable!  Please invest in a zester/microplane!  You’ll be glad you did!!!  We can love citrus zest together!

jerk-7

Now add the  garlic.

jerk-8

Fresh ginger going in!  Trust me on this……if you don’t use fresh ginger, the recipe is shot!  Fresh ginger and dried, ground ginger do NOT have the same taste!  Fresh ginger is CHEAP!  So use the good stuff, please!  I use my trusty microplane for the ginger too.

jerk-9

Now toss in the crushed red pepper flakes and the Jerk seasoning. 

jerk-10

Give it a stir and let it marinate as long as possible before cooking.  It’s best to let it soak up the marinade at least an hour, but several hours or overnight would be even better!

jerk-11

Pour wings and marinade into a baking dish.  I highly recommend using a disposable pan for this so you don’t have to scrub when it’s finished cooking.  Bake 45 minutes or until chicken is completely cooked. 

Now don’t shoot me, but I failed to take pictures of a step in between here!  Halfway through the cooking process, I poured off the majority of the marinade/cooking liquid into a saucepan.  This step was twofold.  I wanted the wings to crisp up a little bit and I wanted to use the liquid to make a sauce to pour over the wings. 

I added half a cup of firmly packed brown sugar to the liquid I poured off the chicken and cooked it down until it made a thick sauce.  I simmered it on low until it was as thick as gravy.  And let me tell you, the aroma was INSANE!

jerk-12

I also failed to add this to the “What You’ll Need” photo.  Sorry ’bout that!  I had about 18 different things going on at the same time and had to rely on Ankle Biters for any assistance because TSM was sicker than a dawg.  So I missed documenting a step or two along the way.  Begging pardon…….Sprinkle with toasted seasame seeds after pouring your thickened sauce over the wings.

jerk-13

And you end up with these incredibly flavorful little wings……..WOW, I wish I had a scratch and sniff monitor right now!  These were “eyes rolled back in the head” good!

Jamaican Jerk Chicken Wings

*  3 pounds chicken wings

*  2″ piece fresh ginger—1 Tbsp. grated

*  1 heaping Tbsp. fresh minced garlic

*  2 Tbsp. Jamaican Jerk seasoning

*  1/2 tsp.-1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

*  zest and juice from 1 orange

*  1/2 cup soy sauce

*  1/2 cup brown sugar

*  2 Tbsp. toasted sesame seeds

Place wings in a mixing bowl.  Zest the orange and set the zest aside.  Cut the orange in half and juice it into the mixing bowl.  Next add the soy sauce.  Add grated ginger, minced garlic, Jerk seasoning, orange zest, and crushed red pepper flakes to the bowl.  Allow to marinate at least 1 hour.

Pour wings and marinade into a baking pan.  Bake in a pre-heated 350° oven for 45 minutes or until the chicken is cooked completely through. 

About halfway through the cooking process, pour off the cooking liquid into a saucepan.  Add brown sugar to the liquid.  Simmer on low until sauce thickens to the consistency of gravy.

Pour sauce over wings and toss them to coat each wing with the sauce.  Sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds.  Serve hot.

Now let me share an idea with you.  This would be equally amazing on a pork loin or boneless skinless chicken breasts!  I would make the marinade in a bowl separate from the meat if doing either of those.  Then I’d pour half the marinade on the meat and let it soak overnight.  The other half would be in a bowl by itself.  I’d grill the meat and thicken the reserved marinade while the meat grilled.  When the meat is completely cooked, pour the sauce over the meat when serving. 

This would make an awesome summer-time meal!  In fact, I can’t wait for warm weather to get here so I can get that grill cranked up and try this very thing!

I hope you enjoy this recipe!  I truly can’t tell you how amazing these turned out.  They’re so different from the traditional Buffalo Wings you’re used to!  Still spicy, but with a sweet twist!  Give ’em a try and report back! 

I’ve missed you people!  I hope my crazy work schedule is over for a while and we can get back to cooking around here!  See you soon with another new recipe!

9 Responses

  1. since i’m not as hot and spicy as you,girl……how “hot” is just the jamaican jerk seasoning?

  2. I don’t think it’s hot at all……..but that’s me…..You could always make a non-hot jerk seasoning with some allspice and cloves, etc. and you wouldn’t have to worry about the heat at all.

  3. I think I’ll try this with strips of chicken breast. I haven’t made jerk chicken in the past, but just know it would be a huge hit here.

  4. Looks good! Of course, it needs more hot sauce, but that goes without saying. LOL

  5. thanks for the suggestion……i will make my own and report back!!

  6. I have a bag of chicken wings that I needed a recipe for. I think I found it! 😉 thanks!!

  7. ROFL Betsy! Yep, y’all do hot like WE do hot!

    Let me know, Don!

    WOO HOO Tammy!!!!!! Report back!

  8. […] Jamaican Jerk Chicken Wings So um, did you miss me?  Sorry to leave you all high and dry!  It’s been beyond wild at workTags:  chicken, high, jamaican, jerk, leave, miss, wild […]

  9. This was an awesome recipe! Highly recommended

Leave a Reply

