Super Honkin’ Kicked Up Loaded Twice Baked Potatoes

Alrighty!  Here we go!!!  Finally, at long last, a new recipe!  Well, new to y’all…..not so new to my family and me.  I’ve been making these potatoes for years!  We loved “Twice Baked Potatoes,” but I wanted something a little more substantial, so I started playing around with some ideas.  And that’s how these Super Honkin’ Kicked Up Loaded Twice Baked Potatoes came to be.  Trying saying that name 3 times really fast!  Betcha can’t do it! 

Let’s make some!  They’re a little time and labor-intensive, but OH, SO WORTH IT in the end!  Here’s what you’ll need:

loaded1

Potatoes, of course!  Get some big ones!  Those little squirrely ones just won’t hold up to the Super Honkin’ part of this recipe!  Some green onions, red bell pepper, a can of whole kernel corn, frozen broccoli, garlic, fresh peppercorns, sour cream, Jane’s Krazy Salt and cheese of choice.

Start out by scrubbing your potatoes and sticking them in the oven to bake.  I like to bake them naked…..just lay them on the racks of the oven like this:

loaded15

Now while they’re baking, let’s mix up the goodies that will go into the potato mixture later.

loaded2

Trim up the green onions and get them ready for slicing.  I take the “hairy” end off each one and then the cut tips of the greens.  I also peel the most outside layer of the onion off.  There’s no rhyme or reason as to why I do that particular step other than I have major OCD issues and think it MUST be done.  You’re welcome to skip that step if you aren’t obsessive/compulsive!  :o) 

loaded3

Now give them a little diagonal slice like this.

loaded4

Now cut the pepper in half and scoop out the insides.  Remove all the seeds and discard them. 

loaded5

Slice each half into thin strips like this.

loaded6

Slice the strips until you have a small dice like this.

loaded7

Go ahead and throw them into a bowl together.  They’re going to be good friends!  See!  Don’t they look pretty together?! 

loaded8

Open and drain the can of corn.  Now add it to the peppers and onions in the bowl.  If you prefer, you could use a can of cream corn instead of the whole kernel. 

loaded9

Go ahead and throw the bag of broccoli in there now.  Use as much or as little as you think your family will like.  My family LOVES broccoli.  So I use the whole bag not matter how many potatoes I’m making.  This time, I used chopped broccoli.  I had company coming with kids younger than mine.  So I used the smaller cut broccoli to make it a little easier for little people to eat.  Usually, I use broccoli florets so there are large hunks of broccoli in there.  Ankle Biter #2 could eat his weight in broccoli!

loaded11

Now give it a good mix.  Looks how gorgeous that is!  Couldn’t you just swan dive into it!?

loaded12

Throw in some fresh-cracked pepper.  I sure wish these screens had a scratch and sniff feature because you can’t even wrap your head around how amazing this smells!

loaded13

And some Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt………….that’s some GOOD stuff right there!

loaded14

And what would this world be without a big scoop of minced garlic!?  So toss some of that in too!  Give it a good stir and just set it aside until the potatoes are done.

loaded16

Cut each potato in half length-wise.  Notice I’m holding the potato in a pot-holder.  You’ll need to do this step while the potatoes are hot or they’ll get gummy on you.  So I highly recommend using a pot-holder or a towel to hold the potatoes or you’ll have some seriously charred flesh!

loaded17

Not the best picture ever, but I can’t hold a potato in one hand, a spoon in the other and take pictures with my toes.  I’m just not quite that dextrous.  So Ankle Biter #1 had to help his ole mom out with this one.  Scoop the potato out leaving a little potato around the edges so it will hold its shape.

loaded18

Collect all the potato’s innards in a large bowl.  No sissy bowls for this.  You’re going to need a BIG one! 

loaded19

Here’s what your potato shells should look like.  Line them up on a baking sheet for stuffing.

loaded20

Get your trusty potato-masher and have a go at those tater innards!  You don’t want the consistency of mashed potatoes.  Leave a few lumps, but not huge chunks.

loaded21

Now add the sour cream to the smooshed potatoes.

loaded22

Stir until all the sour cream is combined well with the potatoes.

loaded23

Dump in the bowl of veggies you prepared earlier. 

loaded24

Give it a good mix.  Man alive, this stuff is GOOD!

loaded25

Dump in about 2/3 of the bag of cheese.  Reserve some of it for the tops of the potatoes.  Now give it a good mix.

loaded26

Start stuffing the potatoes.  Be generous!  You’ve got plenty!  Really mound it up!

loaded27

See, like this?  Don’t be stingy!  You’ll have more than enough to really pile them high!

loaded28

Give the potatoes a good sprinkle of cheese and stick them back in the oven just long enough for the cheese to melt.

loaded29

Now dig in!!!!!!!!!

It’ll take you a little time to make these, but they are SO worth it!  And if you want to make them a complete meal in themselves, add some of last night’s grilled chicken into the potato mix.  Just diced it up and toss it in when you add the veggies.  Leftover ham or grilled pork chops would also be good.  You can’t really go wrong with it! 

If you like asparagus better than broccoli, substitute that!  Roasted red peppers as opposed to raw red peppers would be amazing!  Change it up to suit your fancy! 

I served it alongside Smoky Mountain Chicken (recipe will be available here in a few days!) and a Wedge Salad.  But it makes a wonderful accompaniment to most any grilled or baked meat.  And if you don’t want to take the time to do all that potato baking, scooping, and refilling you can just peel some potatoes, boil them like for mashed potatoes and just add the ingredients and bake in a casserole dish.  Or………you can fake this one really well!  Make up some instant mashed potatoes using sour cream and then add all these other goodies, top with cheese in a casserole dish and bake.  Nobody will ever know you didn’t peel potatoes until your little fingers nearly fell off the bone! 

These potatoes are a HUGE summertime expectation at my house.  When we grill, they make frequent appearances!  I hope you all enjoy them as much as my family does!

6 Responses

  1. Thanks for the dinner inspiration! 🙂

    BTW, LOVE the new kitchen and floors now going in. Super happy for you!! 😉

  2. looks yummy…….but what’s a good sub for the corn? my stomach just says no to corn and potatoes mixed together….don’t know why…..just does……

  3. Thanks Kim!

    Donna, I can’t think of anything to sub for it. But you could just leave it out.

  4. Those are beautiful,Amy! Plus, they sound wonderful!

  5. Hi Amy!
    We’ve met through Stef a few times…I saw your profile through Stef’s friends on Facebook and found your website. I LOVE what you have going here!! I have already found several recipes I will be trying out! I also love to cook and bake so your website is right up my alley. I will be bookmarking it so I can check in often.Keep postin’!

  6. You’re kitchen is beautiful! I’m so jealous! I have a tiny apt kitchen thats so tiny there’s barely enough room for 2 people to pass each other. There’s only counterspace for a few appliances, no where but the pullout cutting board to set anything. Well I’m glad to see you now have a sweet kitchen now to creative in!

    I’ve been on a diet since January 1st & have lost 67lbs so far. I have stick with it until the holiday meals come around. I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes! If you make come up with anything diet before then, I’m game! LOL!

Leave a Reply

